Henley in Arden, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Guide to Henley in Arden, Warwickshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barlichway
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Stratford on Avon
Registration District Stratford on Avon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1679
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Warwick
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

HENLEY-IN-ARDEN, a market-town and chapelry, in the parish of Wootton-Wawen, union of Stratford-upon-Avon, Henley division of the hundred of Barlichway, S. division of the county of Warwick, 10 miles (W. by N.) from Warwick, and 101 (N. W. by W.) from London. The town is pleasantly situated, near the confluence of the rivers Arrow, and Allen or Alne, and consists principally of one spacious street, extending for nearly a mile along the road from London, through Oxford, to Birmingham.[1]

Henley in Arden is an Ecclesiastical Parish and a market town in the county of Warwickshire, created in 1747 from Wootton Wawen Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Whitley. Genuki.org.uk has additional information on this parish.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Henley in Arden, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2]
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464168.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Accessed November 19, 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.