Henstridge, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Henstridge, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Henstridge, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Henstridge, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Horethorne
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wincanton
Registration District Wincanton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Merston
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Henstridge
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

HENSTRIDGE (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Wincanton, hundred of Horethorne, E.division of Somerset, 10 miles (W. by S.) from Shaftesbury.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Henstridge, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
Henstridge, Somerset Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1653-1840



SOPC 1660-1840

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474298.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 20 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  6. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  7. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.