Hereford St Nicholas, Herefordshire Genealogy
Guide to Hereford St Nicholas, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hereford St Nicholas, Herefordshire|
Hereford St Nicholas Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Hereford|
|Parish registers: 1556|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1629|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean of Hereford|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
Hereford St Nicholas is an Ancient parish in the cathedral city and former market town of Hereford, the county town of Herefordshire.
Hereford St Nicholas church dates from 1842 by Thomas Duckham of Hereford and has been designated a grade ii listed building by English Heritage British Listed Building
"HEREFORD, an ancient city, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Grimsworth, county of Hereford, of which it is the chief town, 135 miles (W. N. W.) from London; in the hundred of Webtree." St Nicholas' Parish registers commence from 1556. St Nicholas parish is one of several in this city of which the principal is the Cathedral, dedicated to St Mary and St Ethelbert (which see). With St Nicholas parish, here's a list of chapels and other ecclesiastical parishes within the city:
- Hereford All Saints
- Hereford St John the Baptist
- Hereford St Martin
- Hereford St Owen
- Hereford St Peter
- Hereford Cathedral (St Mary and St Ethelbert and ancient parish)
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Hereford St Nicholas
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England. London (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 22 May 2013.