Herringfleet, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Herringfleet, Suffolk)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Herringfleet, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Herringfleet, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mutford and Lothingland
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Mutford and Lothingland
Registration District Mutford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1706
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lothingland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Parish History

HERRINGFLEET (St. Margaret), a parish, in the hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 6 miles (N. W. by W.) from Lowestoft. [1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Church Records

Herringfleet, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[9]
Herringfleet, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1709-1752

FMP 1691-1900 1682-1775 1722-1730
FREG 1813-1904

1813-1871
FS PRs Undefined 1553-1784, 1813-1904 Undefined 1553-1784 Undefined 1553-1784, 1813-1905
IGI 1691-1692
NBI

1691-1901

The parish registers combined with those for Ashby St Mary, Norfolk from 1553 and Gunton from 1734 are available in images on FamilySearch.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474640.


Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

Herringfleet is in Mutford district. To search an index of Mutford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 491-497. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911', Find My Past, accessed 5 January 2016.
  4. 'Suffolk Marriage Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  5. 'Suffolk "Early" Burial Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  6. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  7. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.