Hessenford, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Hessenford, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
The Parish Church of Saint Anne, Hessenford. Cornwall
|Poor Law Union||St Germans|
|Registration District||St Germans|
|Parish registers: 1834|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1834|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
Hessenford (Cornish: Rys an Gwraghes) St Mary is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1834 from St Germans, Cornwall Ancient Parish.
The church was built by local subscription with labour, material and financial contributions and was dedicated on the 26th September 1833, at that it time was a district chapel of Saint Germans parish, the perpetual curate being appointed by the vicar of Saint Germans however, Hessenford became a parish in its own right by "Order in Council" in 1852. The lych gates were a gift and built in 1905, the original gates being used for the entrance to the church yard.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Hessenford, Cornwall Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free|
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Hessenford, Cornwall Genealogy Online Parish Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P86
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241259.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Hessenford in GENUKI
- 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
- 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
- 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
- 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
- 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.