Heyford Warren, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Heyford Warren, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Heyford Warren, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Heyford Warren, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ploughley
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Bicester
Registration District Bicester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1680
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bicester
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

HEYFORD, WARREN, or UPPER (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bicester, hundred of Ploughley, county of Oxford, 7 miles (N. E. by N.) from Woodstock. The Wesleyans have a place of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474575.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 501-505. Date accessed: 09 October 2012.