Heywood, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Heywood, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Heywood

Guide to Heywood, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Heywood, Wiltshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Westbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Westbury and Whorwellsdown
Registration District Westbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: 1849
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wylye
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

HEYWOOD, a chapelry in Westbury parish, Wiltshire; near the Somerset and Weymouth railway, and near Salisbury plain and the boundary with Somerset, 1 mile N of Westbury.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Heywood, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
Heywood, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1849-1905

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464203.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.