Higham on the Hill, Leicestershire Genealogy
|Higham on the Hill, Leicestershire|
St Peter Higham on the Hill, Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Hinckley|
|Parish registers: 1754|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1564|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
HIGHAM-ON-THE-HILL (St. Peter), a parish,in the hundred of Sparkenhoe, S. division of the county of Leicester, 3 miles (N. E.) from the town of Nuneaton.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Higham on the Hill like this:
HIGHAM-ON--THE-HILL, a village and a parish in Hinckley district, Leicester. The village stands near the Ashby-de-la-Zouch canal, Watling street, the boundary with Warwickshire, and the Leicester and Nuneaton railway, 2½ miles NE of Nuneaton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Higham on the Hill, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Higham on the Hill, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: Higham on the Hill Bap 1790 - 1906 Marr 1754 – 1947 (Banns to1937) Bur 1790 - 1897
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438748.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.