Higham with West Close Booth, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

History

Higham St John the Evangelist was created as an Ecclesiatical parish from Padiham, Lancashire and Whalley, Lancashire

Preceding the construction and consecration of the church the National School adjacent opened in 1837 was licensed for worship in 1851 until the consecration of the Church in 1874.

HIGHAM-BOOTH-WITH-WEST-CLOSE-BOOTH, a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; 3½ miles NW of Burnley. Acres, 1,400. Real property, £2,604. Pop., 759. Houses, 162. The manor belongs to the Duke of Buccleuch. There are two cotton mills, a Wesleyan chapel, and a national school; and the school house is used as a chapel of ease.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

The Parish Church of St John the Evangelist, Higham Lancashire.jpg

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/


Church records

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records


Poor Law Unions

Burnley Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.