Highworth with Sevenhampton, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Highworth with Sevenhampton

Guide to Highworth with Sevenhampton, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Highworth with Sevenhampton, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Highworth, Cricklade and Staple
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Highworth and Swindon
Registration District Highworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539; Separate registers exist for Sevenhampton beginning 1649
Bishop's Transcripts: 1583
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cricklade
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Highworth
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

HIGHWORTH (St. Michael), a market-town and parish, in the union of Highworth and Swindon, hundred of Highworth, Cricklade, and Staple, Swindon and N. divisions of Wilts; containing the chapelries of Broad Blunsdon, South Marston, and Sevenhampton. There are chapels at Broad Blunsdon, South Marston, and Sevenhampton; and a place of worship for Independents. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Highworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Highworth Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1743-1885
1538-1742

IGI 1743-1885 1743-1895
NIM 1538-1840
1538-1837

Sevenhampton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Sevenhampton Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1649-1663
1649-1661

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464197.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 509-512. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  4. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.