Hillsborough County, Florida Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Florida  Gotoarrow.png  Hillsborough County

Guide to Hillsborough County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Hillsborough County, Florida
Map of Florida highlighting Hillsborough County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Founded January 25, 1834
County Seat Tampa
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Hillsborough County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today

County Information

Hillsborough County, Florida Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1875 1848 1900 1830 1837 1845

County Courthouse

Courthouse and Confederate Memorial - Hillsborough County, Florida

Hillsborough County Courthouse
419 N Pierce Street
Tampa, FL 33602
Phone: 813.276.8100

County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and land records.
Hillsborough County has a number
of addresses for their Clerks of the Circuit Court[2]

Clerk of Circuit Court
George E. Edgecomb Courthouse
800 Twiggs Street
Tampa, FL 33602 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)

Clerk of Circuit Court
Tax Deeds
George E. Edgecomb Courthouse
800 Twiggs Street Room #103
Tampa, FL 33602 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)

Clerk of Circuit Court
Marriage License, Recording, Records Library, Passports
419 Pierce
Room 140
Tampa, FL 33602 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)

Clerk of Circuit Court
Annex Tower
Tampa, FL 33602 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)

Clerk of Circuit Court
County Center
601 E. Kennedy Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33602 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)

Brandon Office

Clerk of Circuit Court
Brandon Regional Service Center
311 Pauls Drive
Suite 110
Brandon, FL 33511 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)
Maps and Directions

SouthShore Office

Clerk of Circuit Court
SouthShore Regional Service Center
410 30th St. S.E.
Ruskin, FL 33570 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)

Plant City Office

Clerk of Circuit Court
Plant City Courthouse
302 North Michigan Avenue
Plant City, FL 33563 Monday - Friday (8 AM - 5 PM)


A brief history of Hillsborough County is given on this website, along with links to other sources.

Parent County

1834--Hillsborough County was created 25 January 1834 from Alachua County. County seat: Tampa [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Hillsborough County Courthouse, a small log cabin, was burned by Native Americans during the Second Seminole War.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Tampa is one of the larger communities in Hillsborough.

Neighboring Counties

Hardee • Manatee • Pasco • Pinellas • Polk
Hernando CountySumter CountyLake CountyOrange CountyPasco CountyPinellas CountyHillsborough CountyPolk CountyOsceola CountyManatee CountyHardee CountySarasota CountyDeSoto CountyHighlands CountyOkeechobee CountyCharlotte CountyGlades CountyFL Hillsborough.jpg


African American


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
FLGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
FLGenWeb Archives Interment.net
Tombstone Project Veterans Administration National Cemeteries
Billion Graves


For tips on accessing Hillsborough County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.

  • 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb
  • 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
  • 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
  • 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
  • Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
  • State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
  • Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

There are over 300 Hillsborough Churches listed on this website, with their location indicated

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Tampa


Emigration and Immigration


Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hillsborough County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.




Civil War
Korean War
Vietnam War


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hillsborough County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library USGenWeb


Probate records are held by the Hillsborough County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Hillsborough County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

  • 1784 – 1990 FamilySearch Florida Probate Records 1784-1990
  • 1810 – 1974 Ancestry.com $ Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

University of South Florida Tampa. Some Hillsborough County marriage records

Hillsborough County Vital Records Office

Birth Records
Death Records
Divorce Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Public Libraries

The following libraries in Hillsborough County have collections of particular interest to genealogists.

John F. Germany Public Library
900 N. Ashley Dr.
Tampa, Florida 33602-3788
Telephone: (813) 273-3652
The Hillsborough County Library History and Genealogy Department has a large collection with emphasis on Florida, the southeast region, the original thirteen colonies and all other states bordering on the Mississippi River.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 123-139. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hillsborough County, Florida Page 134 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).