Hisøy, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Hisøy, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Microfilm at the Family History Library for Hisøy prestegjeld (clerical district). Contains priest and sexton records for Hisøy parish. Was separated from Øyestad clerical district in 1871. See Øyestad clerical district for earlier records. Parish registers from 1849-1923.
Digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet [Digital Archives]
For 1664-1666, 1801, and 1865 census see Øyestad
- 1875: Folketælling for kongeriget Norge den 31te December 1875. The 1875 census forHisøy prestegjeld (clerical district) is available on microfilm at the Family Historiy Library. This 1875 census contains the name of the farm or residence, the persons name, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.
- 1900: Folketælling for Norge, 3 Dec 1900. The 1900 census for Hisøy prestegjeld (clerical district) is available on microfilm at theFamily History Library. This census contains the name of the farm or resident, persons name, temporarily resident, temporarily absent and where person is, sex, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also avaialble in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway; as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø in Norway.
- Folketellingen for Norge den 1te desember 1910. The 1910 census for Hisøy is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway as well at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø in Norway.
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
5 Engholmen, 1 Gjervoldsøen, 5 Hafsøen, 5 His, 8 Jomfruholmen, 7 Kallevig, 4 Løvold, 5 Skarvedalen, 6 Slubrevig, 5 Strømmen, 5 Stølsvigen, 3 Tangen, 5 Torungerne, 8 Trommestad, 2 Villumstad