Holme Cultram, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Holme Cultram, Cumberland)
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Cumberland go to Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Holme Cultram, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Holme Cultram, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Allerdale below Derwent
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Wigton
Registration District Wigton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1581
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663; Separate records exist for Holme St Cuthbert beginning 1850
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Allerdale
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Parish History

HOLME-CULTRAM (Virgin Mary), a parish, in the union of Wigton, Allerdale ward below Derwent, W. division of Cumberland, 6½ miles (W. N. W.) from Wigton. The Society of Friends have a meeting-house at Beck-foot.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Holme Cultram, Cumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Holme Cultram, Cumberland Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTs 1580-1597 1580-1597 1580-1597

Records on microfilm Parish registers for Holme-Cultram, 1581-1931

Bishop's transcripts for Holme-Cultram, 1663-1871

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241280.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Holme Cultram on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 30 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.