Holmedal Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Holmedal parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search
Sweden
Värmland County
Holmedal

Guide to Holmedal Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Holmedal Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Karlstad
Pastorat pre 1918 Holmedal, Karlanda, Töcksmark, Östervallskog and Västra Fågelvik, 1918-1938 Holmedal and Karlanda, 1939-1961 Holmedal, 1962- Holmedal and Karlanda
Län pre 1779 Närke och Värmland, after 1779 Värmland
Landskap Värmland
Härad not applicable
Tingslag pre 1970 Nordmark
Domsaga Arvika
Fögderi Säffle, 1682-1795 Västersysslet, 1796-1867 Södersysslet, 1868-1917 Nordmark, 1918-1946 Södersysslet, 1946-1966 Nordmark
Länsmansdistrikt add here
Kronofogdedistrikt Värmlands län
Kommun Årjäng
Militär indelning Vermlands Regemente: Nordmarks Kompani, Extra Soldat-Roteringen


Place Names

Bergerud, Björkviken, Breviken, Båcklerud, Bäckehvarf

Gröttnäs, Gårdtveten, Gördsbyn

Hajom, Holmedal, Holmerud, Hån, Hällersrud

Kroken

Lefverbyn, Lian

Myrhvarf, Månstad, Mölnerud

Pickstad

Rudsbyn/Rössbyn

Selen, Stallerebyn, Sundsbyn, Sållom, Såviken

Tveten, Tången

Upsala

Prestgården

Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Värmland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a family history center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Värmland and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References:

Holmedal Husförhörslängd 1836-1840 Ortregister


Riksarkivet. "Holmedal." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). January 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/