Holmes County, Mississippi Genealogy
Guide to Holmes County, Mississippi ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Holmes County, Mississippi|
Location in the state of Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
|Founded||19 February, 1833|
|Address|| Holmes County Courthouse|
PO Box 239;
Lexington, MS 39095
Holmes County Courthouse
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Genealogy Resources
- 5.1 Research Guides
- 5.2 African Americans
- 5.3 Bible Records
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church Records
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Genealogy
- 5.9 Land and Property
- 5.10 Local Histories
- 5.11 Maps
- 5.12 Military
- 5.13 Naturalization
- 5.14 Newspapers
- 5.15 Occupations
- 5.16 Probate Records
- 5.17 Taxation
- 5.18 Vital Records
- 6 Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
Holmes County, Mississippi Record Dates
Holmes County Courthouse
PO Box 239;
Lexington, MS 39095
Clerk Chancery Court has divorce records from 1894, probate and land records from 1833 and burial records. Clerk Circuit Court has marriage and court records. 
For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1884--A courthouse fire destroyed many of the records, but the deeds were housed in a separate building and Will Book I was rescued.
Lexington is the county seat located in the center of the county. Lexington is also the largest city in Holmes county.
Cruger and Tchula are on western side of the state. Cruger is the northern most city in Holmes county. Tchula is on the western border of the county and is connected to Lexington via the Tchula/Lexington highway (modern day hwy 12).
The cities that border the eastern edge of the county from the north to the south are West, Durant, Goodman, and Pickens. These cities follow stops on the Illinois Central railroad line. Durant is connected to Lexington via the Durant/Lexington highway (modern day highway 12).
Census records often reference these highways located between cities according to the city from which you are traveling towards the county seat of Lexington.
The largest population growth occured between the 1870's during the post-civil war era and 1910. Railways were numerous in the cotton economy of the mississippi delta region.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|Tombstone Project||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1805 - 1890 Mississippi, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1805-1890 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1660 - 1820 U.S. Census Reconstructed Records, 1660-1820 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1792 - 1866 Mississippi, State and Territorial Census Collection, 1792-1866 at Ancestry.com — index $
For tips on accessing Holmes County, Mississippi Genealogy census records online, see: Mississippi Census.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.
230 Swan Drive, Greenwood, MS 38930-6929
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Holmes County, Mississippi Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.
- Maps of Mississippi (1785-1918)
- Family Maps of Holmes County, Mississippi Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- 1861-1865 - Mississippi, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1861-1865 - Mississippi, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1889-1942 - Mississippi, Confederate Records, 1889-1942 at FamilySearch — images
- 1900-1974 - Mississippi, Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1900-1974 at FamilySearch — images
- Men from Holmes County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Holmes County.
Holmes County, MSGenWeb site has rosters for the various companies.
- - 1st Battalion, Mississippi Sharpshooters
- Company B - Red Rebels
- - 1st Regiment, Mississippi Light Artillery
- Company D - Wofford’s Battery
- - 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company A - Kyle’s Company
- - 4th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company C - Red Invincibles
- Company G - Nelson Grays
- - 12th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company F - Durant Rifles [also listed as Co. I]
World War I
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Holmes County, Mississippi Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records are held by the Holmes County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Holmes County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
- 1780 – 1982 Mississippi Wills and Probate Records 1780-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1781 – 1930 Mississippi Probate Records 1781-1930 at FamilySearch — images
- Probate records, 1833-1888, 1893-1977; indexes, 1833-1977, 1833-1977 Viewable
Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.
- 1800 - 1911 Mississippi, Marriages, 1800-1911 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1776 - 1935 Mississippi Marriages, 1776-1935 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1826 - 1900 Mississippi Marriages, 1826-1900 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1826 - 50 Mississippi Marriages, 1826-50 at Ancestry.com — index $
- to 1825 Mississippi Marriages to 1825 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1884-1916 - Holmes County Marriage Books G-H and 1-14 Index 1884-1916 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1884-1967 Marriage records, 1889-1951; index to marriages, 1884-1967 Index
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Holmes County, MS History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Mississippi Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Mississippi Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb Holmes County, Mississippi project. Has maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Holmes County, Mississippi page 379, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/ce/Igimississippia.pdf.