Holy Island, Northumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Holy Island, Northumberland)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Holy Island, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Holy Island, Northumberland
Parish Church of St Mary Holy Island2.jpg
Parish Church of St Mary Holy Island2
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Islandshire
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Berwick
Registration District Berwick
Records begin
Parish registers: 1578
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Norham
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Parish History

HOLY-ISLAND, anciently Lindisfarn (St. John the Evangelist), a parish, in the union of Berwick, in Islandshire, N. division of Northumberland, 5½ miles (N. by E.) from Belford, and 10 (S. E.) from Berwick. The church is a small neat edifice.[1]

Additional information:

Holy Island is a parish comprising Holy Island, Fenham and Goswick on the Northumberland coast. The church of St. Mary the Virgin is an ancient parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Holy Island, Northumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Holy Island, Northumberland Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTs 1813-1864 1813-1904

Records of baptisms 1578-1960, marriages 1578-1958 and burials 1578-1959 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/139 1765-1868. The parish is historically recorded as North Durham until 1844 then as Northumberland.  North Durham references in the Durham Bishop’s Transcripts collection 1700-1900

Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Family Search Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.  

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241358.


Poor Law Unions

Berwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 07 August 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.