Hong Kong Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hong Kong)
Jump to: navigation, search

Asia Gotoarrow.png China Gotoarrow.png Hong Kong

Hong Kong Wiki Topics
Flag of Hong Kong.jpg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Hong Kong Background
Hong Kong Ethnicities
Local Research Resources

Guide to Hong Kong ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

Hong Kong (香港; "Fragrant Harbour") is an autonomous territory on the coast of China. It was formerly ruled by Great Britain. The official languages are Chinese and English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Hong Kong Research

Links to articles on getting started with Hong Kong research.

Hong Kong Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Hong Kong research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Hong Kong Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Hong Kong. Map of Hong Kong 18 Districts.png


Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Hong Kong.

Administrative Districts:

1. Islands
2. Kwai Tsing
3. North
4. Sai Kung
5. Sha Tin
6. Tai Po
7. Tsuen Wan
8. Tuen Mun
9. Yuen Long

10. Kowloon City
11. Kwun Tong
12. Sham Shui Po
13. Wong Tai Sin
14. Yau Tsim Mong
15. Central & Western
16. Eastern
17. Southern
18. Wan Chai

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

Links to Web Resources


  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Hong Kong," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hong_Kong, accessed 28 April 2016.