Honiton, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Honiton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Honiton|
|Parish registers: 1562|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1609|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
HONITON (St. Michael), a borough, market town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Axminster, Honiton and S. divisions of Devon, 16 miles (E. N. E.) from Exeter. This place is situated on rising ground, on the south side of the river Otter, and on the line of the great western road from London to Plymouth. Here are places of worship for Wesleyans and Unitarians.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Honiton, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Honiton, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Particular Baptist, Presbyterian
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241301.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Honiton on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 539-542. Date accessed and adapted: 29 October 2013.
- 'Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812', Ancestry, accessed 12 February 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.