Hood River County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Hood River County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Hood River County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||June 23, 1908|
|County Seat||Hood River|
|Address|| Hood River County Courthouse|
309 State Street
Hood River, Or 97031-2037
Hood River County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Archives and Libraries
- 5.2 Cemeteries
- 5.3 Census
- 5.4 Church History and Records
- 5.5 Court Records
- 5.6 Directories
- 5.7 Ethnic Groups
- 5.8 Gazetteers
- 5.9 History
- 5.10 Land and Property
- 5.11 Maps
- 5.12 Migration
- 5.13 Military
- 5.14 Newspapers
- 5.15 Obituaries
- 5.16 Probate Records
- 5.17 Schools
- 5.18 Taxation
- 5.19 Vital Records
- 6 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 7 Websites
- 8 Hood River County Oregon Genealogy References
Hood River County, Oregon Record Dates
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate,
and court records from 1908 and land records
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Hood River County Court House as of July 2009.
Hood River County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).
- Record Loss:
Named for Hood River, a tributary of Columbia River.
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Please do not format these pages unless you have content to add to them.
Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.
Archives and Libraries
- Oregon State Archives, Genealogical Information Locator
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
- Pine Grove Butte Cemetery Records
- Index of Idlewilde Cemetery, Hood River Oregon, transcribed by Jeffrey W. Bryant
- Oregon Metro
- Oregon Genealogy Cemeteries
- Hood River County Cemeteries, Columbia Gorge Genealogy Society
- Soldiers of 1861-1865 buried in Idlewilde Cemetery, Hood River, Oregon, by Jean Williams Koops and Patricia F. Combs
- Japanese Population in Oregon - October 1, 1928
- Hood River School Census 1933, Hood River County School District, transcribed by Jeffrey W. Bryant
- Hood River School Census 1940, Hood River County School District, transcribed by Jeffrey W. Bryant
Church History and Records
- Rural Area Only
- Telephone Directory - 1973 - Hood River - Odell - Dee - Parkdale, Oregon
- 1905 Hood River Telephone Directory
- Directory, Oregon-Washington Telephone Company, Hood River, Oregon January 1st, 1919, Reprinted by Columbia Gorge Genealogical Society
- Japanese-Americans of the Mid-Columbia Area and Their Relatives, Roy Higashi
- National Archives: Japanese American Internment Files
- Dragonville Sketches - Hood River High School, A Picture History, by John Lamphiear
- History of Early Pioneer Families of Hood River, Oregon, compiled by Mrs. Della M. Coon
- History of Hood River County, Oregon 1852 - 1982, Hood River County Historical Society
- History of Hood River County, Oregon 1852 - 1987, Hood River County Historical Society
- History of Oregon, Carey, Charles Henry, Chicago: Pioneer Historical Pub. Co., 1922.
- History of the Columbia River Valley, from The Dalles to the Sea, by Fred Lockley
- History of Wasco County, Oregon, McNeal, William H., The Dalles, Ore.: unknown, 1954?
- An Illustrated History of Central Oregon, embracing Wasco, Sherman, Gilliam, Wheeler, Crook, Lake and Klamath Counties, Western Historical Publishing Company, Spokane, Washington, 1905
- Portland, Oregon, its history and builders, Chicago:Gaston, Joseph, S. J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1911.
- Portrait and biographical record of Portland and vicinity, Oregon, Chicago: Chapman Pub. Co., 1903.
- Hood River Area History from selected newspaper articles, transcribed by Jeffrey L. Elmer
Land and Property
Early migration routes to and from Hood River County, Oregon Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
- National Archives: Combat Area Casualties Current File, 6/8/1956 - 1/21/1998
- Honor Roll of Oregon Grand Army of the Republic, 1881-1935, Compiled by Jane Myers, Cottage Grove Genealogical Society
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I
- WWI Civilian Draft Registrations - Ancestry.com
- World War I Draft Registration Cards, FHL US/CAN Film 1852057
World War II
- World War II Enlistment Records from NARA, Residence County: Hood River, Oregon
- Hood River Glacier, original copies at the Hood River Public Libraryand at:
- Hood River Sun, original copies at the Hood River Public Library
- Hood River News, original copies at the Hood River Public Libraryand at:
Historic Oregon Newspapers as a division of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program has digitzied more than 644,000 pages of newspapers throughout Oregon. Dates range from 1846-1922 with selected issues continuing through 1973.
Of particular interest to Hood River County researchers:
- Hood River News Obituaries
- Hood River Mascot yearbooks, located at the Hood River Public Library
- Wy East High School
- Vitals from the Hood River Glacier, 1889-1903, tanscribed by Jeffrey L. Elmer
- Western States Marriage Record Index
- Oregon Vital Records: Deaths 1903-1998, Ancestry.com ($)
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Hood River County Historical Society
Port Marina Park
Hood River 97031
Hood River County Historical Society & Museum
300 E Port Marina Drive
Hood River, Oregon 97031
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Hood River County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Hood River County GenWeb Project part of The ORGenWeb Project
- Hood River Genealogical Information - Families and Individuals from Public Records
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project (Backup site)
Hood River County Oregon Genealogy References
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hood River County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092 FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap6.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).