Hoole, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hoole, Cheshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngHoole

Guide to Hoole, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

HOOLE, a township, in the parish of Plemonstall, union of Great Boughton, Lower division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, 2½ miles (N. E.) from Chester. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.


Church Records

Hoole Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Hoole All Saints (1872) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1868-1946
  NONE
1872-1973
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
1868-1906
  NONE
  NONE 
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Hoole, 1868-1963 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P161/1/1-5, P161/2/1-4, P161/5099/1-2, 5-8.

Parish Registers: Hoole
Film
Baptisms, 1868-1944.
2068516 Items 4 - 10
Baptisms, 1944-1946. Marriages, 1872-1942.
Granite Mountain Record Vault British Film 2068517
Marriages, 1942-1963.
2068518 Items 1 - 3

Bishop's transcripts for Hoole, 1868-1906 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 112

Bishops Transcripts: Hoole
Film
Baptisms, 1868-1871, 1869-1877, 1879, 1878, 1880-1882, 1884, 1882-1886, 1882-1887.
1647431 Item 6
Baptisms, 1888-1894, 1896-1898, 1900-1906.
1647432 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton (1837-69)
  • Chester (1870-1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937-54)

Poor Law Unions

  • Great Boughton (1837-71)
  • Chester (1871-1930)

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 542-545. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.

Bibliography