Hope, Flintshire Genealogy
A guide to genealogy in Hope, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
"HOPE, or ESTYN, a small borough and a parish, in the Hope division of the hundred of Maelor, county of Flint, on the road from Wrexham to Mold, 5 miles (N.N.W.) from the former, 6 miles (S.E.) from the latter, 12 1/2 (S.S.E.) from Flint, and 193 (N.W.) from London, containing 2747 inhabitantas. This place has been distinguished in the Welsh border history from a very early period. Its casle, situated about a mile from the village, has been generally known by the appellation of Caergwrle, which anciently was also probably applied to the whole pariash and is supposed to be derived from the ancient British words Caer gawr lleon, signifying "the fortress of the gigantic legion." ...The first mention of Hope under its present name occurs in the Norman survey, where it is noticed as a small hamlet in the possession of one Giselbert." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]
For more information on Hope see: Genuki - Hope
|before 31 March 1974||Flintshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Clwyd|
|from 1 April 1996||Flintshire|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 104268.