Hopi Tribe, Arizona (Reservation)

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Guide to Hopi Tribe, Arizona (Reservation) ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and BIA Agency records.

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Arizona Gotoarrow.png Indians of Arizona Gotoarrow.png Hopi Tribe, Arizona (Reservation)

AI ORP.png

Reservation

The Hopi Indian Reservation is a federally-recognized reservation, located in northern Arizona.
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Hopi Reservation
  • Reservation Established -- December 16,1882
  • BIA Agency -- Hopi Indian Agency
  • Principal tribes -- Hopi Indian Tribe
  • Population -- 1969: Tribal enrollment: 6,000 [1]

Records

Land Records: All land is tribally owned.

Records at tribal headquarters are for currently enrolled tribal members. Records may include: allotments, annuities, enrollments, employees, courts, leases, police registers, registers of families, and vital records. These records vary from tribe to tribe. Find the older and most useful records for family history research at the BIA Agency for the tribe, or at the National Archives.

For Further Reading

See For Further Reading.

References

  1. Confederation of American Indians (New York, New York), Indian Reservations: a State and Federal Handbook (Jefferson, North Carolina : McFarland, 1986), ???. At various repositories (WorldCat); FHL Book 970.1 In2.