Hopkins County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hopkins County, Texas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Texas
Hopkins County

Guide to Hopkins County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png


Hopkins County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Hopkins County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 25, 1846
County Seat Sulphur Springs
Courthouse
TexasHopkinsCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today


County Information

County Courthouse

Hopkins County Courthouse
County Clerk's Office
128 Jefferson, Suite C
Sulphur Springs, TX 75482
Phone:(903) 438-4074
Fax: (903) 438-4110

Hopkins County Court House
PO Box 288
Sulphur Springs, Texas 75482
Phone: 903.885.3929

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, probate, court and land records from 1846;
District Clerk has divorce records[1]

County Clerk

128 Jefferson Ste. C
Sulphur Springs 75482
Phone: 903-438-4074

District Clerk

P.O. Box 391
Sulpher Springs 75483
Phone: 903-438-4081

Hopkins County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1846 1850 1846 1846

History

Parent County

1846--Hopkins County was created 25 March 1846 from Lamar and Nacogdoches Counties.

  • County seats:
  1. 1846-1870: Tarrant;[2]
  2. 1870-present: Sulphur Springssent [3]

Boundary Changes

1870 - Southwestern Corner of Hopkins County was given to Rains County; land north of the South Sulphur River was given to Delta County. [4]
1871 - Small part of the northeastern corner of Hopkins County was given to Lamar County. [5]

Record Loss

1894--Hopkins County Courthouse destroyed by fire on February 10, 1894.  Nearly all of the records were saved.  Those destroyed were in the office of Judge Morris.  The fire additionally destroyed the jail, part of the Courthouse square and the offices of the Hopkins County Echo newspaper.[6]

Places / Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Brashear | Dike | Como | Cumby | Gafford | Pickton | Saltillo | Sulphur Bluff | Sulphur Springs | Tira

Neighboring Counties

Delta  • Franklin  • Hunt  • Rains  • Red River  • Wood


Fannin CountyDelta CountyLamar CountyRed River CountyFranklin CountyHopkins CountyHunt CountyRains CountyWood CountyTX HOPKINS.JPG
About this image

Resources

African American

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
Linkpendium WorldCat Tombstone Project
Billion Graves (name) Cemeteries of TX
GenWeb Archives Texas Cemeteries
Billion Graves (cemetery) TX Gravestones
TXGenWeb Epodunk
Names in Stone Interment
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Additional Cemetery Sources

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18502,623
18607,745195.3%
187012,65163.3%
188015,46122.2%
189020,57233.1%
190027,95035.9%
191031,03811.0%
192034,79112.1%
193029,410−15.5%
194030,2642.9%
195023,490−22.4%
196018,594−20.8%
197020,71011.4%
198025,24721.9%
199028,83314.2%
200031,96010.8%
201035,16110.0%

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hopkins County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Maps

Txhopkins.jpg

Military

Mexican-American War
Civil War

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hopkins County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce


Societies and Libraries

Hopkins County Genealogical Society
611 North Davis
PO Box 624
Sulphur Springs 75482
Telephone Number:903-885-8523
Email:CGS@SUDDENLINKMAIL.COM

Hopkins County Historical Society
416 N. Jackson
Sulphur Springs, TX
PO Box 1066
Sulphur Springs, TX 75483
Telephone Number: 903-885-2387

Sulphur Springs Public Library
611 Davis St N
Sulphur Springs, TX 75482
Telephone Number: 903-885-4926
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

  • Society HillLinks and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hopkins County, Texas. Page 666 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handbook of Texas Online: Hopkins County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hch18
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, (2).
  4. Handbook of Texas Online: Hopkins County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hch18
  5. Handbook of Texas Online: Hopkins County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hch18
  6. GenDisasters.com - Sulphur Springs, TX Hopkins County Courthouse Fire, Feb 1894 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/17844/sulphur-springs-tx-hopkins-county-courthouse-fire-feb-1894