Hordaland County, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hordaland County, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search
Norway Wiki Topics
Flag of Norway.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Norway Background
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for California is SteuartRC
Norway
Hordaland County
Hordaland-Norway.png

Guide to Hordaland ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}
Hordaland is a county in Norway, bordering Sogn og Fjordane, Buskerud, Telemark and Rogaland. Hordaland is the third largest county after Akershus and Oslo by population. The county administration is in Bergen. Before 1972 Bergen was a separate entity (Bergen county) from Hordaland.

Family History Resources

Nordhordland

Sunnhordland Lag

Hardanger Lag 

Vosselag  (www.Vosselag.org)

Vestlandslag Stevne

Government Offices and Sites

Cities, Parishes and Clerical Districts in Hordaland County

Masfjorden (Sandnes)SolheimMoEksingedalHosangerStamnesBruvikDaleEvangerVossVossestrandVinjeUppheimGranvinUlvikEidfjordKinsarvikUllensvangOddaRøldalAustrheimLindåsMykingLygraLygraLindåsFedjeHordabø (Bøe)MangerHjelme (Skjold)MangerSæbøSæbøHerdla (Herlø)AlversundSeimMelandMelandHamreBergen CityBergen CityÅsaneGjerstadHausArnaAskøyLaksevågLaksevågLoddefjordLoddefjordFjellBirkelandSundFanaSamnangerKvamØysteseJondalStrandebarmÆnesVaraldsøyHålandsdalFusaStrandvikOsAustevollMøksterTysnesOpdal (Uggdal)ØlveHatlestrandKvinnheradFitjarFinnåsStordEidHusnesHolmedalÅkra (Åkre)SkånevikSkånevikEtneStøle (Strødle)Støle (Strødle)GjerdeFjelbergFjelbergBjoastrandBjoastrandØlenVikebygdVikebygdMosterBømloValestrandSveioHordaland Parishes 2x2.jpg
About this image


Church Records/Civil Registration

Censuses

The parish priest's census (scanned)

The bailiff and the magistrate's census (scanned)


Farm Books

Land Records

1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.

Military Records

Passenger Lists

Probate Records

Probate Jurisdictions


 
Hordaland.jpg


Return to Norway Page

Taxation

Oppebørselbok for Rosendalsgodset 1796-1800 .  (A record of taxes received for Rosendal Baroniet from 1796-1800).