Horninghold, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Horninghold, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England& Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Horninghold, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Horninghold, Leicestershire
St Peter Horninghold Leicestershire.jpg
St Peter Horninghold, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gartree
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Uppingham
Registration District Uppingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1661
Bishop's Transcripts: 1572
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gartree
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

HORNINGHOLD (St. Peter), a parish, in theunion of Uppingham, hundred of Gartree, S. division of the county of Leicester, 4½ miles (W. S. W.) from Uppingham. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Horninghold, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Horninghold, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1661-1839
1661-1839
1661-1839

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438742.


Poor Law Unions

Uppingham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 550-553. Date accessed: 23 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.