Horningsham, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Horningsham, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Horningsham

Guide to Horningsham, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Horningsham, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Heytesbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Warminster
Registration District Warminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1581
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wylye
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

HORNINGSHAM (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Warminster, hundred of Heytesbury, Warminster and S. divisions of Wilts, 4¼ miles (S. W.) from Warminster. There is a place of worship for Independents. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Horningsham, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[6]
Horningsham, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1576-1857
1561-1813

FREG 1857-1910
1754-1815, 1838-1908

IGI 1561-1813
NBI

1561-1837
NIM 1538-1837
1561-1837
1538-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464196.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 550-553. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  6. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.