Horsted Parva, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Horsted Parva, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Horsted Parva, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Uckfield|
|Parish registers: 1540|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1593|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
HORSTED, LITTLE, a parish, in the union of Uckfield, hundred of Rushmonden, though a considerable portion is locally in that of Loxfield-Dorset, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 2 miles (S.) from Uckfield.
Little Horsted (anciently Horsted Parva) St Michael and All Angels is an Ancient Parish in the Wealden district of East Sussex.
A history of the Church Little Horsted St Michael
The parish Church of St Michael and All Angels Little Horsted has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
See also Little Hosrsted Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Uckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
The Register Office
Phone 01323 464780
Fax 01323 431386
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Horsted Parva
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464163.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Samuel A. LewisA Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 553-557. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.