Horton, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Horton, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Horton, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Horton, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grumbald's Ash
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Chipping Sodbury
Registration District Chipping Sodbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hawkesbury
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

HORTON (St. James), a parish, in the union of Chipping-Sodbury, Upper division of the hundred of Grumbald's-Ash, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 3¼ miles (N. E.) from Chipping-Sodbury.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Horton, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IARC = Internet Archive - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
HORTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1567-1812 1567-1812 1567-1753 1567-1753 1567-1812 1567-1812
AC 1813-1881 1813-1881 1813-1868 1813-1868 1813-1972 1813-1972
BOYD
1567-1812

FREG 1567-1812
IARC 1658-1785 (gaps) 1672-1776 (gaps) 1661-1769 (gaps)
JOIN

1567-1811


PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288770.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 557-559. Date accessed: 18 December 2012.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  6. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Extracts from Parish Registers, No. IV.: Horton,' in Beaver H. Blacker, ed., Gloucestershire Notes and Queries, Vol. 3 (1887):3-5. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  8. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.