Hoton, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hoton, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.pngLeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Hoton, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Hoton, Leicestershire
Former St Leonard Hoton Leicestershire.jpg
Former St Leonard Hoton, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Loughborough
Registration District Loughborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; For more records see Prestwold
Bishop's Transcripts: 1633
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Goscote
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

HOTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Prestwold, union of Loughborough, hundred of East Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 3 miles (N. E.by E.) from the town of Loughborough. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Hoton like this:

HOTON, or HOUGHTON, a township and chapelry in Prestwold parish, Leicester; near the river Soar and the boundary with Notts, 3¼ miles NE of Loughborough r. station. Post town, Loughborough; Acres 1,850, Real property £3, 031, Pop., 401, and Houses 87. The manor belongs to the Marquis of Hastings. The living is a p. curacy, annexed to the donatives of Prestwold, in the diocese of Peterborough. The church was rebuilt in 1837, and has an embattled tower. There is a Wesleyan chapel.

The former church of St Leonard was closed in 1989 and subsequently deconsecrated and converted into a private residence.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hoton, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Hoton, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1653-1895
1653-1895
1653-1895

It is advisable to research the Prestwold, Leicestershire registers

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Hoton Bap 1653 - 1987 Marr 1653 - 1981 Bur 1653 - 1987

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438743.


Poor Law Unions

Loughborough Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 559-562. Date accessed: 23 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.