Hougham, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hougham, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
Hougham

Guide to Hougham, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hougham, Lincolnshire
Hougham All Saints Lincolnshire.jpg
Hougham All Saints Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loveden
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Newark
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Loveden
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

Hougham All Saints is an Ancient Parish. The chapelry of  Marston, Lincolnshire was formed from this parish. The church was founded in 1562.

The church is built in the Norman style and contains a monument to Sir Hugh de Bussey thought to be a senior in the Knights Templar. There is also a large tomb dedicated to Arthur William Thorold.

The church is alongsdie the River Witahm and slightly concealed from the village.

HOUGHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Newark, wapentake of Loveden, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 6¼ miles (N. N. W.) from the town of Grantham. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of Newark registration district.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Following re-organisation of local government historical registration was transferred to Lincolnshire
Certificates can be obtained from:
Lincolnshire
Certificate Applications
PO Box 760
Lincoln
LN2 5WG
Phone: 01522 782244

Email: regist@lincolnshire.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Hougham Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hougham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Hougham/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 559-562. Date accessed: 24 August 2013.