Howard County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Howard County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Howard County
The Crossatot River at Cossatot Reefs Park, Howard County, AK.

Guide to Howard County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County QuickStart:


Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records
Howard County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Howard County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 17, 1873
County Seat Nashville
Courthouse
ArkansasHowardCourthouse.jpg
Address Howard County Courthouse;
421 N Main Street
Nashville, AR 71852
Phone: 870.845.7502


County Courthouse

Howard County Courthouse;
421 N Main Street
Nashville, AR 71852
Phone: 870.845.7502

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1873 and some cemetery records; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records from 1873[1]

Beginning years for Howard County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1873 1914* 1873 1873 1873
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

County seat: Nashville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Hempstead  • Little River  • Montgomery  • Pike  • Polk  • Sevier

Howard CountyPike CountyHempstead CountyLittle River CountySevier CountyPolk CountyMontgomery CountyScott CountyClark CountyMcCurtain CountyLe Flore CountyLatimer CountyPushmataha CountyChoctaw CountyBowie CountyRed River CountyLamar CountyARHoward.JPG


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Howard County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

  • 1819 - One of the first settlers was John Tollett, a Methodist minister from Bledsoe County, Tennessee.
  • 1820s - This area was also part of the land given to the Choctaw in exchange for property in Mississippi.
  • 1820s - Choctaw inhabitation of the area discouraged settlement by white people for several years.
  • 1873 April 17 - Howard County was created from portions of Pike, Polk, Hempstead, and Sevier counties.
  • 1880s - The railroads arrived, connecting Howard County to the rest of the state and beyond.
  • 1920-1970 - The decline of the cotton industry had a ripple effect on the community. The county’s population peaked in 1920 and subsequently declined with each census until 1970.

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Howard County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Howard County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.
  • ARGenWeb Scroll down to find cemeteries.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Court

Genealogy

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1873-1970 Howard County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 : Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian records 1873-1949; Adminstration and executor bonds 1873-1945; Probate records 1873-1889; Wills 1873-1970.

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Howard County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Howard County, Arkansas Genealogy:

- 5th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), The Davis Blues

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Howard County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Howard County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Howard County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Social networking sites pertaining to Howard County, Arkansas Genealogy


genealogy.com Howard County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Howard County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 68.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Lauren White, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=775&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Howard County.”
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.