Howard County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Howard County, Maryland)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
Howard County


Guide to Howard County, Maryland ancestry, family history, and genealogy, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Howard County, Maryland
Map
Map of Maryland highlighting Howard County
Location in the state of Maryland
Map of the U.S. highlighting Maryland
Location of Maryland in the U.S.
Facts
Founded May 13, 1851
County Seat Ellicott City
Courthouse
Howard County, Maryland Courthouse.JPG
Address Howard County Courthouse
3430 Courthouse Drive
Ellicott City, MD 21043
Phone: 410-992-2025/
Phone: 410-313-3000
Howard County Website



Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Howard County, Maryland Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1898 1840 1898 1860 1840 1840

br>Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, court and land records.
Register of Wills has probate records. [1]

History

John Edger Howard
  • Named for John Edger Howard, a Colonel in the American Revolutionary War, later the 5th Governor of Maryland.

Parent County

  • Made a separate county in 1838 from Anne Arundel County with a part from Baltimore County, but it was not formally recognized until 13 May 1851 by the state Constitutional Convention.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Census Districts

  • Columbia
  • Elkridge
  • North Laurel
  • Savage-Guilford

Communities

  • Clarksville
  • Cooksville
  • Daniels
  • Dayton
  • Dorsey
  • Fulton
  • Glenelg
  • Glenwood
  • Granite
  • Hanover
  • Henryton
  • Highland
  • Ilchester
  • Lisbon
  • Marriottsville
  • Scaggsville
  • Simpsonville
  • West Friendship
  • Woodbine
  • Woodstock

Neighboring Counties

Mdhoward.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MDGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MDInterment
MDGravestones
Billion Graves
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information.

Blackwell, Boston, Fuller & Howard Gravestones (see Pine Orchard Methodist Episcopal Cemetery)

Bonnie Brae Cemetery

Bushy Park Community Cemetery

Cook Cemetery, Columbia

Dorsey Family Cemetery, Village of Harpers Choice, Columbia

Elkridge Community Christian Church

Ellicott Family Graveyard, Ellicott Mills (Now Ellicott City)

McKendree Church Cemetery, West Friendship

Melville Chapel UMC Cemetery, Elkridge

Mountain View Cemetery, West Friendship

Census

Federal Census reports available 1860-1930. For tips on accessing Howard County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Church

Maryland State Archives' Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.

The following records, taken from its collection, have been digitized and made available to view for free online:

Contains the church records of:
  • Elkridge: Elkridge Methodist Church

Church of England

Court

Gazetteers

Land

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Howard County Deed Books (1840-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

Maps

Military

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Maryland, Howard County, p. 151. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Howard County, Maryland Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Howard County, Maryland Genealogy:


- 2nd Regiment, Maryland Cavalry (6 months, 1863-1864), Company C
- 3rd Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Potomac Home Brigade Company I
- 7th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Ashby's) (Confederate). Company B (1st) (Howard Dragoons).[2]

Newspapers

Probate

Online Probate Records

Research Guides

  • Zimmerman, Kenneth E. Guide to Research in Howard County, Maryland. Woodstock, Md.: K. E. Zimmerman, 1997.

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Societies and Libraries

Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society
Central Maryland Chapter
P. O. Box 648
Columbia, MD 21045

Charles E. Miller Branch & Historical Center
Howard County Library System
9421 Frederick Rd
Ellicott City, MD 21042
Phone: 410 313-1950
Website

Howard County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 274
Columbia, MD 21045
E-Mail: info@hcgsmd.org
Website

Howard County Historical Society
9421 Frederick Road
Ellicott City, MD 21042
Phone: 410-480-3250
E-Mail: info@hchsmd.org
Website

Sons of Confederate Veterans
Isaac Trimble Camp #1836
Fraternal Order of Police Lodge #69
2832 Nine Mile Circle
Catonsville, MD 21228
E-Mail: terrymkl@aol.com
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Howard, Maryland page 318, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Richard L. Armstrong, 7th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 88.