Howard County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Howard County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Howard County
Howard County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Howard County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 1, 1871
County Seat St. Paul
Courthouse
px
Address Howard County Courthouse
512 Indian Street
P.O. Box 25
St. Paul, NE 68873-1642
Phone: 398.754.4343
County Website


Howard County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Howard County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1871 1880 1871 1871

County Courthouse


County Judge has marriage, probate, court, land and naturalization records, 1872 and divorce records from 1873. [2]

History

Parent County

1871 Howard County was created 1 March 1871 from Hall County. County seat: St. Paul [3]

Description

Howard County is located in the fertile Loup Valley near the center of the state.[4] The county was formed in 1871 and named after the Union General Oliver Otis Howard.[5]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[6]

City
  • St. Paul
Villages
  • Boelus
  • Cotesfield
  • Cushing
  • Dannebrog
  • Elba
  • Farwell
Census-designated place
  • St. Libory
Unincorporated communities
  • Dannevirke
  • Nysted

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 4,391
1890 9,430 114.8%
1900 10,343 9.7%
1910 10,783 4.3%
1920 10,739 −0.4%
1930 10,020 −6.7%
1940 8,422 −15.9%
1950 7,226 −14.2%
1960 6,541 −9.5%
1970 6,807 4.1%
1980 6,773 −0.5%
1990 6,057 −10.6%
2000 6,567 8.4%
2010 6,274 −4.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Howard County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, St. Paul, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Howard County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nehoward.png

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers. Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Howard - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

  • Howard County Historical Society
    Indian St
    P.O. Box 1
    St Paul, NE 68873
    Phone: 308-754-4901; 308-754-4192
    Website

Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Howard County, Nebraska page 431, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/howard/ accessed 09/29/2016
  5. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Howard_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Howard County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Howard_County,_Nebraska, accessed 1 August 2016.