Hubbard County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Hubbard County, Minnesota)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Minnesota
Hubbard County

Guide to Hubbard County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Hubbard County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Hubbard County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 26, 1883
County Seat Park Rapids
Courthouse
Address Hubbard County Courthouse
301 Court Street
Park Rapids, MN 56470
Phone: 218.732.3552
Hubbard County Website


County Information

Hubbard County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1885 1884 1887 1850 1883 1884

County Courthouse



County Recorder has birth, death and land records.
License Center has marriage records.
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records. [2]

History

Parent County

  • 1883--Hubbard County was created 26 February 1883 from Cass County. County seat: Park Rapids [3]
  • For a brief history of how Hubbard County was named, click here, then select Hubbard County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

No records destroyed, though county courthouse was destroyed by fire about 1890.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Akeley | Laporte | |Nevis | Park Rapids

Townships

Akeley Township | Arago Township | Badoura Township | Clay Township | Clover Township | Crow Wing Lake Township | Farden Township | Fern Township | Guthrie Township | Hart Lake Township | Helga Township |Hendrickson Township | Henrietta Township | Hubbard Township | Lake Alice Township | Lake Emma Township | Lake George Township | Lake Hattie Township | Lakeport Township | Mantrap Township | Nevis Township | Rockwood Township | Schoolcraft Township | Steamboat River Township | Straight River Township | Thorpe Township | Todd Township | White Oak Township

Unincorporated

Emmaville

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MNGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Court

Emigration and Immigration

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Hubbars – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Hubbard County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnhubbard.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hubbard County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth
Marriage
Death


Societies and Libraries

Hubbard County Historical Society
PO Box 327
Park Rapids 56470
Website

Paul Bunyan Historical Society
West Broadway
PO Box 118 (Mailing)
Akeley, MN 56433
Telephone: 218-652-2575

North Central Minnesota Historical Center
The A. C. Clark Library
1500 Birchmont Dr. NE #28
Bemidji, MN 56601-2699
Telephone: 218-755-3342
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hubbard County, Minnesota page 364, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).