Huddersfield, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Huddersfield, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes A-I
West Riding of Yorkshire
Huddersfield

Guide to Huddersfield, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Huddersfield, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Huddersfield
Registration District Huddersfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Marsden; Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

HUDDERSFIELD, a borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; comprising the chapelries or districts of Golcar, Lindley, Longwood, Paddock, Scammonden, Slaithwaite, and part of Marsden; 40 miles (S. W.) from York, and 189 (N. N. W.) from London. The parish comprises...Trinity district church... and Christ Church, ...named Woodhouse. ...Two places of worship have been opened for Independents. ...Here are also two for Wesleyans, one of which was erected in 1819; one for the Society of Friends; one each for Primitive Methodists and Methodists of the New Connexion; and a Roman Catholic chapel. [1]

  • Holy Trinity district church -1819
  • St. Paul's Church -1831
  • Christ Church - 1825
  • Slaithwaite
  • Scammonden or Deanhead
  • Paddock
  • Lindley
  • Longwood
  • Golcar

Places of worship have been erected for the Independent Church--one in 1835, and one in 1845, respectively. Also two churches were built for Wesleyan Methodists, one in 1819; a meeting house for the Society of Friends; a chapel was built for the Primitive Methodists and one for the New Connexion Methodists. In 1833 a Roman Catholic chapel, was erected here.[2]

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Huddersfield, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[3]
FMP = findmypast (£)[4]
FS = FamilySearch.org
HUDDERSFIELD ST PETER PARISH (1562) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1562-1910 1562-1910 1562-1935 1562-1935 1562-1925 1562-1925
FMP 1749-1819 None None None None None
FS 1566-1824 None 1724-1824 None Add None
HUDDERSFIELD All Saints Parish (1830) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP 174 None None None None None
FS 1835-1841 None 14 None Add None
HUDDERSFIELD Holy Trinity Parish (1819) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 10 110 15 135 25 25
FMP
None None None None None
FS
None
None Add None
HUDDERSFIELD St Andrew Parish (1871) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP





FS
None
None Add None
HUDDERSFIELD St John Parish (1852) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP
None None None None None
FS
None
None Add None
HUDDERSFIELD St Mark Chapelry  (1887) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC [1]



[2]
FMP
None None None None None
FS 4 None 14 None Add None
HUDDERSFIELD St Thomas Chapelry (1859) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC [3]



[4]
FMP 179 None None None None None
FS 154 None 17 None Add None
Golcar Chapelry (1829) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP
None None None None None
FS 24 None 14 None Add None
Lindley Chapelry (1830) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP 174 None None None None None
FS 15 None 14 None Add None
  Longwood Chapelry (1797) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP
None None None None None
FS 1813-1870 None None
None Add None
Marsden Chapelry (1734) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP 174 None None None None None
FS 15 None 14 None Add None
Paddock Chapelry (1830) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP 174 None None None None None
FS 15 None 14 None Add None
Scammonden Chapelry (1746) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP 119 None None None None None
FS 14 None 14 None Add None
Slaithwaite Chapelry (1684) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP 9 None None None None None
FS 1684-1894 None 1684-1745 None Add None
Woodhouse Chapelry (1824) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FMP





FS
1824-1843 None 1825-1840
None Add None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Church Records of the Poor

Here are three important West Yorkshire database sets at Ancestry, which provide data on some of the poor living within some of the boroughs in the (West) Riding of Yorkshire:

  1. West Yorkshire, England, Select Removal and Settlement Records, 1689-1866
  2. West Yorkshire, England, Select Poor Law and Township Records, 1663-1914
  3. West Yorkshire, England, Bastardy Records, 1690-1914


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464245.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 569-574. Date accessed: 28 October 2013.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 569-574.
  3. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
  4. Huddersfield and District Baptisms Collection