Hudspeth County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Hudspeth County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Hudspeth County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||February 16, 1917|
|County Seat||Sierra Blanca|
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places / Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 African American
- 4.2 Cemeteries
- 4.3 Census
- 4.4 Church
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Land
- 4.7 Local Histories
- 4.8 Maps
- 4.9 Military
- 4.10 Newspapers
- 4.11 Obituaries
- 4.12 Probate
- 4.13 Taxation
- 4.14 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Hudspeth County Courthouse
PO Drawer A
Sierra Blanca, TX 79851
County Clerk has birth, marriage, divorce, probate
and court records from 1917 and land records from 1836
County and District Clerk
P.O. Drawer 58
Sierra Blanca 79851
Hudspeth County, Texas Record Dates
1917--Hudspeth County Court House was organized 16 February 1917 from El Paso County. The county was going to be called Darlington County, then Turney County, before it was finally named for state senator Claude Benton Hudspeth of El Paso. 
County seat: Sierra Blanca 
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Allamoore | Dell City | Fort Hancock | Salt Flat | Sierra Blanca
- 1865-1870 Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records(images) - FamilySearch
- Texas African American Griots ~ USGenWeb
- AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy
- Texas African American Genealogy ~ Access Genealogy
- Texas Freedman's Bureau Records ~ Freedman's Bureau Online
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Hudspeth County Cemeteries ~ TXGenWeb
- Tombstone Transcription Project ~ Partial transcription of cemetery tombstones ~ USGenWeb
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
- 1850 Mortality Schedule more information at the Family Search Wiki ~ TXGenWeb
- 1850 Slave Schedule ~ TXGenWeb United States Census Slave Schedules more information at the FamilySearch Wiki.
- 1850 Census ~ TXGenWeb
- 1850 United States Census
- 1860 Census ~ TXGenWeb
- 1860 United States Census
- 1870 Census ~ TXGenWeb
- 1870 United States Census
- 1880 Census ~ TXGenWeb
- 1880 United States Census
- 1890 Census
- 1900 Census ~ TXGenWeb
- 1900 United States Census
- 1910 Census
- 1910 United States Census
- 1920 Census
- 1920 United States Census
- 1930 Census
- 1930 United States Census
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Land Survey Abstracts ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
Local histories are available for Hudspeth County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Hudspeth County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Hudspeth County Landmarks ~ TXGenWeb
- Texas Museums ~ List of all museums in Texas ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Historical Maps ~ From the Republic to the Turn of the Century ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- 1838-1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- 1861-1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ TXGenWeb
World War I
- WWI Draft Registrations ~ TXGenWeb
World War II
- WWII Veterans and Casualties ~ TXGenWeb
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hudspeth County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online
- Hudspeth County Obituaries ~ TXGenWeb
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1903-1935 Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- 1903-1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
- Hudspeth County Baptism Records TXGenWeb
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837-1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 - FamilySearch record collection.
- 1837-1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837-1977 Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- 1966-2005 Texas Marriage Records 1966-2005 - Hidden Ancestors
- 1966-2010 Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection.
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890-1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 (with images). Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903. Also more information in Texas Death Records, 1890-1976 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- 1903-1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org - index
- 1903-1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com - index and images $
- 1903-2000 Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- 1964-1998 Texas Death Index 1964-1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977-1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2005 Texas Divorce Records 1968-2005 - Hidden Ancestors.
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1850-1930 USGenWeb Census Project Texas 1850 - 1930
Societies and Libraries
Railroad Depot Hudspeth County Museum
241 W El Paso St
Sierra Blanca, Texas 79851
Telephone Number: 915-986-2407
this museum also houses offices of the local historical society
Grace Grebing Public/School Library
110 N Main
Dell City, TX 79837
Telephone Number: 915-964-2468
Fort Hancock Isd/Public Library
101 School Dr
Fort Hancock, TX 79839
Telephone Number: 915-769-1600
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Society Hill Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
- Hudspeth County Archives ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Hudspeth County ~ TXGenWeb
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hudspeth County, Texas. Page 666 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handbook of Texas Online: Hudspeth County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hch21
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).