Hull St Mark, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Hull St Mark, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
See and print out a "Complete List of Kingston-upon-Hull Parishes and Chapels".
|Hull St Mark, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Sculcoates|
|Parish registers: 1844|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
HULL, or Kingston-upon-Hull, a sea-port, borough, and county of itself, situated on the borders of the East riding of York, 39 miles (S. E.) from York, and 170 (N.) from London; comprising the parishes of St. Mary, the Holy Trinity, Drypool, and Sculcoates, the extra-parochial district of Garrison-Side, and part of the parish of Sutton. In the Sculcoates district, E. R. Yorkshire 3 miles NE by N of Hull a church was formed, in 1844, into the chapelry of Hull-St. Mark. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Kingston upon Hull exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|KINGSTON UPON HULL CHAPELRY (1658) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels comprising the whole ancient parish of Sutton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the SUTTON PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464224.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 271-274. Date accessed: October 31, 2013.