Humberston, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Humberstone, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Humberston, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Humberston, Lincolnshire
Humberston St Peter Lincolnshire.jpg
Humberston St Peter Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bradley Haverstoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Caistor
Registration District Caistor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1748
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grimsby
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

Humberston (in some early record sources Humberstone) St Peter is an Ancient Parish. The Ice Age boulder Humber Stone deposited in the village gave the first name to the village but the original spelling is now archaic and to avoid confusion with Humberstone, Leicestershire was avoided.

The church of St Peter dates from a 1710 rebuilding of the ancient church the tower being retained.

The Wesleyan Methodists built a small chapel on Humberston Avenue in 1835 which was replaced in 1907.

Humberston is a civil parish within North East Lincolnshire.

HUMBERSTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Caistor, wapentake of Bradley-Haverstoe, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 4 miles (S. E.) from Great Grimsby. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Humberston parish was within the Great Grimsby sub district of Caistor registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Humberston Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Humberstone

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438765.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Caistor Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Humberstone/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 580-583. Date accessed: 24 August 2013.