Hundwil parish, Appenzell, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngAppenzell Ausserrhoden Gotoarrow.png Hundwil parish

Guide to Hundwil parish, Appenzell, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

Hundwil was the capital of the former Hinterland district.  It has an area of 24.1 square kilometers (9.3 square miles).  This area is used thusly:

58.5% agriculture
31.2% forest
3.2% settlement
7.1% non-productive

Click here for a geographical map of Appenzell, including Hundwil.

History

Hundwil has been an independent parish since the thirteenth century.  In 1667, Hundwil had a population of 1,845.  By 1734, this had increased to 3,360.  In 1749, the parish of Stein was split off from Hundwil; by 1794, the population was recorded at 1,910.  In 1850, the population had decreased further to 1,500, rising to 1,523 by 1900. 

Place Names

Locations within Hundwil

Aeschen
Auen
Befang
Buchberg
Hagtobel
Hundwil
Hundwilerhöhe
Läbel
Nasse

Pfanz
Rachentobel
Schmiedshaus
Schwägalp
Sonder
Stechlenegg
Stuhn
Tobel

Surrounding Parishes

Click here for a map showing Hundwil in relation to the rest of Canton Appenzell.

Gonten (Appenzell-Innerrhoden)
Herisau
Krummenau (Sankt Gallen)
Nesslau (Sankt Gallen)
Schlatt-HaslenAppenzell-Innerrhoden)
Schwende (Appenzell-Innerrhoden)
Stein
Urnäsch
Waldstatt
Wildhaus (Sankt Gallen)

Collections

Church Records

The church records for Hundwil are now available online from the Appenzell State Archives.  They are organized by volume.  Click here to access these records.

The parish of Hundwil was established in the thirteenth century, with the earliest records beginning in 1581. Records held by the Family History Library include baptisms (Taufen) 1581-1861, confirmations (Konfirmanden 1770-1783 and 1787-1846, marriages (Heiraten) 1590-1861, and deaths (Tote) 1635-1637 and 1660-1761. Later records are housed at the Cantonal Archive in Herisau, Switzerland.

The following family books (Familienbuch) are available at the Cantonal Archive in Herisau:
Volume 1 (1581-1833) - family register established ca. 1700
Volumes 2-3 (1790) - family register of non-citizen residents
Volumes 4-6 (1833-1875) - family register of citizens
Volumes 7-8 (19th century) - family register of non-citizen residents
Volume 9 (1866) - family register of citizens

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Hundwil families:

Bont family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,469)
Engler family
, by Alfred Reichen (FHL Film 186,627)
Frehner family
, by Juilus Billeter (FHL Film 128,007)
Müller, by Julius Billeter (FHL Book Q929.2494 M912bb)
Näf/Nef family
, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,035; see also FHL Film 193,480)
Preisig family
, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,084)
Schmid family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 1,181,674; see also FHL Film 193,483)
Schoch family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 127,986; see also FHL Film 193,483)
Schoch family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,009; see also FHL Film 193,483)
Signer family, by Carl F. Marbacher (FHL Film 1,224,618)
Signer family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,484)
Stieger family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,485)
Zellweger family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,008)
Zuberbühler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,036)

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Hundwil belongs to the Hinterland civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Hinterland App. A. Rh.
Poststrasse 6
CH - 9102 Herisau

Tel: +41 71 354 54 35

Email: zivilstandsamt@herisau.ar.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Hundwil prior to 1875:

Anderauer
Berweger
Biser (extinct)
Bont
Bruggmeister (extinct)
Engler
Etter
Fässler
Fisch
Fitzi (extinct)
Frehner
Frischknecht
Gähler (extinct)
Gartenhauser (extinct)

Gmünder (extinct)
Goldener (extinct)
Hauser
Holderegger (extinct)
Hug (extinct)
Jakob
Kern
Kessler (extinct)
Klarer (extinct)
Knöpfel
Koller
Küng
Lauchenauer

Meier/Meyer
Müller
Näf (extinct)
Nägeli
Oberteufer
Oertle
Preisig
Räth
Rechsteiner
Reifler
Rohner
Rotach (extinct)
Schmid

Signer
Steingruber
Stieger
Suhner (extinct)
Thäler
Tribelhorn
Waldburger
Weiss
Widmer
Wirth
Würzer (extinct)
Zähner
Zuberbühler

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden (in German)

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Registry of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden, by Mario von Moos