Huntingdon All Saints with St John, Huntingdonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes
Huntingdon All Saints with St John, Huntingdonshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Huntingdon Borough
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union Huntingdon
Registration District Huntingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Huntingdon St John beginning in 1585
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604; Separate records exist for Huntingdon St John beginning 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Huntingdon
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Huntingdon All Saints with St John, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Huntingdon, is a town, four parishes, a sub-district, and a district in Huntingdonshire. All Saints church is on the N side of the market place. There is an Independent chapel. There are also chapels for Quakers, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists. The four parishes in Huntingdon are All Saints, St. Mary, St. John, and St. Benedict.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Huntingdon All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
Huntingdon All Saints Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1558-1812
1559-1754

BOYD
1559-1837

FREG 1558-1812
1559-1754
1558-1812
IGI 1558-1666, 1783-1812
NBI

1701-1837
PALL
1780-1837

Huntingdon St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Huntingdon St John Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1585-1709, 1712-1812
1586-1640, 1660, 1682-1754

BOYD
1586-1651

FREG 1585-1681
1586-1660
1585-1681, 1700-1707
IGI 1585-1681
NBI

1585-1682, 1701-1837
PALL
1780-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288840.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Huntingdon on GENUKI

Huntingdon All Saints on GENUKI

Huntingdon St John on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 18 April 2014.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Huntingdonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Huntingdon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  6. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.