Huntington County, Indiana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Indiana


Huntington County

Guide to Huntington County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Huntington County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 2, 1832
County Seat Huntington
Courthouse
Address Huntington County Courthouse
201 N Jefferson St Rm 103
Huntington, IN 46750
Ph. 219.358.4819
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today


Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1875*
1837*
1882*
1834
1841
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries


Neighboring Counties

Whitley  • Allen  • Wells  • Grant  • Wabash

Huntington CountyKosciusko CountyWhitley CountyAllen CountyMiami CountyHoward CountyGrant CountyJay CountyAdams CountyWells CountyBlackford CountyWabash CountyINHuntington.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
INGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
INGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Indiana Interment
Billion Graves
See Indiana Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Huntington County, Indiana Genealogy census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Huntington County, Indiana Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Huntington County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Huntington County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Huntington County.

Civil War Books

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Online Records


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Huntington County, Indiana Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Repositories

Courthouse

Huntington County; 201 N Jefferson St Rm 103; Huntington, IN 46750; Ph. 219.358.4819 Details: (Co Hlth Dept has b & d rec from 1882; Co Clk has m rec from 1847, ct rec from 1840, pro & div rec from 1850; Co Redr has land rec from 1834)

Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies

Huntington County Historical Society
PO Box 1012
Huntington, IN 46750

Huntington County Historical Society
315 Court St.
Huntington, IN 46750-2862
Telephone Number: 260-356-7264
Website

Huntington County Genealogical Society
c/o Huntington City-Township Public Library
255 W. Park Dr.
Huntington, IN 46750
Telephone Number: 260-356-0824

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Huntington County, Indiana Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:


Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records


Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Huntington County, Indiana Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Places

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Huntington County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huntington_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Huntington_County,_Indiana_Genealogy&oldid=2757836"