Ickford, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ickford, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Ickford, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Ickford, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ashendon; Ewelme
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Thame
Registration District Thame
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1590
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Waddesdon
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

ICKFORD (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Thame, partly in the hundred of Ewelme, county of Oxford, but chiefly in that of Ashendon, county of Buckingham, 4¼ miles (W. by N.) from Thame. Here is a place of worship for Baptists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241210.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 600-603. Date accessed: 09 October 2012.