Icomb, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Icomb, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Icomb, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Icomb, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswaldslow; Slaughter
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Stow on the Wold
Registration District Stow on the Wold
Records begin
Parish registers: 1545
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stow
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

ICCOMB (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Stow, Upper division of the hundred of Slaughter, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 3 miles (S. E. )from Stow. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Icomb, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
ICOMB PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1545-1812 1545-1812 1545-1753 1545-1753 1545-1812 1545-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1988 1813-1988
FREG 1563-1812
JOIN 1563-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is {{{1}}}.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 600-603. Date accessed: 08 January 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  6. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' Joiner's Marriage Index, accessed 29 January 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.