Illnau parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Illnau parish

Guide to Illnau parish, Zürich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Illnau

Agasul
Aspberg
Bietenholz
Billikon
Birch
Bisikon
Breitenacker
Brunnacker
Brünneli
Buch
Butzwil
Effretikon
Erli
Feld
First

Forrhölzli
Girhalde
Grausel
Grossacker
Grubental
Grütze
Gstück
Guggenbühl
Hackenberg
Hofacker
Horben
Horn
Illnau
Kemleten
Letten

Löchli
Luckhausen
Mesikon
Moosburg
Neugut
Neuhof
Neumühle
Ober-Kempttal
Ober-Illnau
Ottikon
Pfrundweid
Prestberg
Riet
Rikon

Schömlet
Soor
Spiegelhof
Talmühle
Tetschenrain
Ton
Tränketrog
Unter-Illnau
Vogelbuck
Vogelsang
Watt
Wiesental
Winkel
Würglen

Surrounding Parishes

Fehraltorf
Kyburg
Lindau
Russikon
Töss
Volketswil
Weisslingen

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for the parish of Illnau:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 227
1637 1185142 1 365
1640 1185144 2 135
1643 1185146 2 241
1646 1185148 1 507
1646 1185148 1 753
1657 1185179 1 68
1671 1185154 2 95
1673 1185150 3 1035
1678 1185158 1 215
1682 1185159 2 275
1694 1185167 1 1049
1710 1185170 1 27

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Illnau families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Illnau belongs to the Illnau-Effretikon civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Stadtverwaltung Illnau-Effretikon
Zivilstandsamt, 4 OG Stadthaus
Märtplatz 29
CH-8307 Effretikon

Tel: +41 52 354 24 15

email: zivilstandsamt@ilef.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Illnau prior to 1875:

Ahl
Bachmann (from
     Matzingen)
Bachofen
Bachofner
Baumann
Baumberger
Bebie
Beck (1834, from
     Germany)
Bereuter
Binder
Bleibler (1829, from
     Germany)
Boller
Bosshard
Braunschweiler
Brändli
Brüngger

Bryner
Bühler
Corrodi
Denzler
Enderli
Frei/Frey
Furrer
Gehring
Grimm (from
     Weisslingen)
Grimm (from Wetzikon)
Grob
Gubler
Heusser
Hirzel
Hotz
Huber
Hubmann
Isler

Jucker
Kägi
Keller
Klingel
Kuhn
Lamprecht
Mäder
Manzinali
Meier
Moos
Morf
Müller
Nüssli
Ochsner
Ott
Peyer
Pfenninger
Pfister
Rüegg

Saurenmann
Schenkel
Schmid
Stahel
Stiefel
Stutz
Temperli
Vogt
Vollenweider
Weber (1875, from
     Gossau)
Wegmann
Weidmann
Weilenmann
Wettstein
Widmer
Winkler
Wintsch
Würgler

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland