Ilston on the Hill, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  LeicestershireGotoarrow.png  Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Ilston on the Hill, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Ilston on the Hill, Leicestershire
St Michael & All Angels Ilston on the Hill Leicestershire.jpg
St Michael & All Angels Ilston on the Hill, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gartree
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Billesdon
Registration District Billesdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1652; For records see Carlton Curlieu
Bishop's Transcripts: 1582
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gartree
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

ILSTON-ON-THE-HILL, a chapelry, partly in the parish of Carlton-Curlieu, and partly in that of King's-Norton, union of Billesdon, hundred of Gartree, S. division of the county of Leicester, 9 miles(E. S. E.) from Leicester.[1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Ilston like this:
ILSTON, or LLANILLTYD, a parish in Swansea district, Glamorgan; on the river Penarths-Pill, 6½ miles SW of Swansea r. station.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ilston on the Hill, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Ilston on the Hill, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1653-1910
1653-1910
1653-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Ilston on the Hill Bap 1652 - 1812 Marr 1652 - 1835 Bur 1652 - 1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438741.


Poor Law Unions

Billesdon Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 608-611. Date accessed: 24 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 24 January 2014.