Indonesia Cemeteries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Indonesia Wiki Topics
Flag of Indonesia.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Indonesia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Asia go to Indonesia

Cemetery records often give more information than church burial records and may include the deceased’s name, age, date of death or burial, birth year or date of birth, and sometimes marriage information. They may also provide clues about an ancestor’s military service, religion, occupation, place of residence at time of death, or membership in an organization. Cemetery records are especially helpful for identifying ancestors who were not recorded in other records, such as children who died young or women.

Information recorded on tombstones is of primary importance. Often, this information has been transcribed, indexed, and published and is found in manuscripts and books in libraries and archives.

Cemetery records (Kuburan)

Research use: Death information in other records is often meager. Used to distinguish adults and surviving children in parish registers, other family relationships. Chinese and other non-Christian cemeteries are particularly valuable due to a dearth of other records.

Record type: Lists of gravestone burial records, exhumations, sextons records, obituaries.

Time Period: 1600-present.

Content: Name, age, death and burial date and place, birth date and place, sometimes relatives.

Location: District and municipal archives, church archives, Chinese community associations, cemetery offices.

Population coverage: 20%.

Reliability: Good.[1]

Burial Traditions

Batak societies in Indonesia are patriarchal, and are organized along clans known as Marga. The Toba Batak believe that they originate from one ancestor "Si Raja Batak," with all Margas, descended from him. A family tree that defines the father-son relationship among Batak people is called tarombo. Toba Batak are known traditionally for their weaving, wood carving and especially ornate stone tombs. Their burial and marriage traditions are very rich and complex. The burial tradition includes a ceremony in which the bones of one's ancestors are re-interred several years after death. This secondary burial is known among the Toba Batak as (mangongkal holi).

Online

Research Tools

Cemeteries in Indonesia (Wikipedia)

Toraja graves

Family History Library Collection

The Family History Library has several cemeteries related to Indonesia. Go to Place Search and type in:

INDONESIA - CEMETERIES

References

  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Indonesia,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1989-1999.