Indonesia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Asia go to Indonesia

Indonesia Wiki Topics
Flag of Indonesia.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Indonesia Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Guide to Indonesia, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

Indonesia is an island country in Asia and Oceania whose nearest neighbors are Papua New Guinea, East Timor, Malaysia, Singapore, the Philippines, Australia, and Palau. The official language is Indonesian.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Indonesia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Indonesia research.

Indonesia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Indonesia research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Indonesia Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Indonesia.

Aceh
North
Sumatra
West
Sumatra
Riau
Riau
Islands
Bangka–
Belitung
Jambi
South
Sumatra
Bengkulu
Lampung
Banten
Jakarta
West
Java
Central
Java
Yogyakarta
East
Java
Bali
West Nusa
Tenggara
East Nusa
Tenggara
West
Kalimantan
Central
Kalimantan
North
Kalimantan
East
Kalimantan
South
Kalimantan
North
Sulawesi
North
Maluku
Central
Sulawesi
Gorontalo
West
Sulawesi
South
Sulawesi
Southeast
Sulawesi
Maluku
West
Papua
Papua

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Indonesia. Regions:

Indonesian provinces and their capitals, listed by region

Indonesian name is in parentheses if different from English.
* indicates provinces with special status

Sumatra

Java

Lesser Sunda Islands

Kalimantan

Sulawesi

Maluku Islands

Western New Guinea

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Indonesia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indonesia, accessed 28 April 2016.