Ingham County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ingham County, Michigan)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Michigan Gotoarrow.png Ingham County

Guide to Ingham County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records. {{{link}}}



Ingham County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 29, 1867
County Seat Mason
Courthouse
Address Ingham County Courthouse
315 S Jefferson St.
Mason, MI 48854
Phone: (517) 676-7201
Ingham County Website


County Information

Ingham County, Michigan Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1867 1838 1867 1820 1835 1835

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1867,
marriage records from 1838, divorce and court
records from 1839.
Probate Court has probate records
Town and City Clerks have burial records. [2]

County Web Page

History

See THE CAPITOL REGION OF MICHIGAN compiled by Victoria Wilson for a general "how to" guide to researching in the area.

Parent County

1829--Ingham County was created 29 October 1829 from Washtenaw and Shiawassee Counties and unorganized territory. It was attached to Washtenaw County prior to organization 4 June 1838.
County seat: Mason [3]

County histories - books online

Boundary Changes

See COUNTY EVOLUTION IN MICHIGAN, 1790-1897 by Richard W. Welch for the development of the counties in the state. This will help you to determine place of residence of your ancestors and under whose civil jurisdiction they resided. It is also useful for when you start to read the census records.

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Alaiedon Twp.

Aurelius Twp.

Bunker Hill

Bunker Hill Twp.

Dansville

Delhi Charter Twp.

East Lansing

Edgemont Park

Haslett

Holt

Ingham Twp.

Lake Lansing

Lansing

Lansing Twp.

Leroy Twp.

Leslie

Leslie Twp.

Locke Twp.

Mason

Meridian

Meridian Twp.

Okemos

Onondaga

Stockbridge

Stockbridge Twp.

Vevay Twp.

Webberville

Wheatfield

White Oak Twp.

Williamstown

Williamstown Twp.

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Clinton  • Eaton  • Jackson  • Livingston  • Shiawassee  • Washtenaw

Ingham CountyEaton CountyCalhoun CountyJackson CountyWashtenaw CountyOakland CountyLivingston CountyGenesee CountyClinton CountyIonia CountyShiawassee CountyMIIngham.JPG


Resources

Announcements

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Census Records

Federal Census

1850

1860

1870

1880

1900

1910

1920

1930

1940

State Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

  • TIMELINE OF LANSING, MICHIGAN CHURCHES

1836 – Biddle City plotted by brothers Jerry & William Ford, located south of the Grand
and Red Cedar Rivers. It consisted of 48 full blocks and 17 fractional ones.
While lots were sold the plat was abandoned and the “city” ceased to exist.

1845 – First Methodist sermon preached at the log house of Joab Page.

1847 - Town of Michigan, Michigan established as the new state capital.

Catholic Church - The Mass was celebrated for the first time in the log
home of Thomas and Eleanora Saier. Saiers later donated land on
Chestnut Street for a church to be built which was begun in 1856.

1848 – Name changes to Lansing. The Methodists and Presbyterians held services in the
School House, the former holding service in the morning and the later in the
afternoon. 1848-50 Methodist services were held in the Representation Hall.

by 1849 – 11 churches existed:
1. First Methodist Church, Wall St., Rev. D.D. Gillett, pastor, (METHODIST)
2. Presbyterian Church, Washington Ave., Rev. C.S. Armstrong, pastor (PRESBYTERIAN)
3. Episcopalian Church, Washington Ave., Rev. H. B. Burges, rector (EPISCOPAL)
4. Free Will Baptist Church, Kalamazoo St., Rev. L. B. Potter, pastor (BAPTIST)
5. Second Methodist Church, Washington Ave., Rev. D.D. Gillett, pastor, (METHODIST)
6. Baptist Church, Capitol Ave., Rev. Charles Johnson, pastor (BAPTIST)
7. United Brethern in Christ’s Church, Capitol Ave. (BRETHERN)
8. Universalist Church, Grand St., (UNIVERSALIST)
9. Romas Catholic Church, erecting midtown) (ROMAN CATHOLIC)
10. German Lutheran Church, Filborn St., Rev. A. Buerkle, pastor (LUTHERAN)
11. German Methodist Church, Saginaw St., Rev. Adolph Hoffman, pastor (METHODIST)

1850 - June 1, - Lot 6, Block 96 on which the present church now stands was deeded to
the First M.E. Church and subsequently to the Central M.E. Church.

1859 – First Baptist Church dedicated, corner of Washington Ave. & Ionia St. Prior to
construction services held at Franklin Street Tavern

1862 - The Central Methodist Episcopal Church was erected.

1863 - Universalist Church dedicated, corner of Grand & Allegan.

1887 – First Presbyterian Church, corner of Allegan and Capitol Ave.

1894 - First Baptist Church, new construction

1904 - A new temporary Catholic Church and hall were built in 1904 on
Walnut Street.

1911- Construction begun on Immaculate Conception of St. Mary’s on Seymour St.

1922 – Church of the Resurrection opened. (CATHOLIC)

1939 – St. Mary’s became the cathedral of the Lansing Diocese.


Church Histories

  • AN HISTORICAL CALENDAR COMMEMORATING OUR 150TH ANNIVERSARY, 1855-2005, by the Emanuel First Evangelical Lutheran Church, Lansing, Michigan
  • THE HISTORY OF EMANUEL, GOD WITH US, 1855-1955. by The Centennial Committee, Hebert Beeskow, Chairman
  • Methodist Church history in Mason
    Facebook Page
DENOMINATIONS in Lansing:
  • ASSEMBLIES OF GOD

Assembly of God Calvary
3006 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 393-5223

Church Of God In Michigan
4212 Alpha St, Lansing, MI 48910 (517) 393-7020

Maranatha Assembly of God
927 E North St, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 372-4106

Mt. Hope Church And International Outreach
202 S Creyts Rd, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 321-2273


  • BAPTIST

Berean Baptist Church
6121 S Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 (517) 887-2266

Bethany Baptist Church
1000 Lincoln Ave, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 484-1331

Bethel Baptist Church
810 Edgemont Blvd, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 321-3922

Calvary Baptist Church
14769 Wood Rd, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 482-1135

Ebenezer House
5655 S Washington Ave, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 272-0572

Eliezer Temple Church
3637 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 394-2544

Faith Fellowship Baptist Church
1001 Dakin St, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 853-9897

Family Life Baptist Church
1427 Hillcrest St, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 484-9194

Galilee Baptist Church
2511 Reo Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 887-0770

Good Shepherd Baptist Church
11715 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 393-7242

Grace Bible Baptist Fellowship
635 Armstrong Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 882-0307

Immanuel Baptist Church
4303 S Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-4660

Immanuel Baptist Church of North Lansing
16045 S Lowell Rd, Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 420-0273

Macedonia International Worship Center
1936 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 272-4911

Maple Grove Baptist Church
5907 S Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 882-8918

Millett Bible Baptist Church
5324 Millett Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 322-0150

New Mount Calvary Baptist Church
3800 W Miller Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 272-3800

Olivet Baptist Church
5455 W Willoughby Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 887-0988

Paradise Missionary Baptist Church
3403 Franette Rd, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 321-7328

Parker Memorial Baptist Church
1902 E Cavanaugh Rd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-2317

Pilgrim Rest Baptist Church
5200 Pleasant Grove Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 882-8012

Prince of Peace Baptist Church
3125 W Miller Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 882-5180

Shiloah Baptist Church
5225 S Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 887-7557

Solid Rock Baptist Church
2410 S Pennsylvania Ave, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 367-8929

Union Missionary Baptist Church
500 S Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Lansing, MI 48915  (517) 485-7705

Valley Farms Baptist Church
1141 E State Rd, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 485-3095

Grace Tabernacle Baptist Church
1819 W Willow St, Lansing, MI 48915  (517) 487-6047

Judson Memorial Baptist Church
530 Vernon Ave, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-5961

Little Rock Baptist Church
433 S Magnolia Ave, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 346-9948

True Light Missionary Baptist Church
1147 W Maple St, Lansing, MI 48915  (517) 484-6110

Colonial Village Baptist
2010 Boston Blvd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 484-4446

Friendship Baptist Church
2912 Pleasant Grove Rd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 394-6369

New Home Missionary Baptist Church
3133 Pleasant Grove Rd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-0300

Tithe Missionary Baptist Church
1415 W Holmes Rd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 887-1592


  • BRETHERN

First United Brethren Church
1330 E Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 487-5766

Grace Brethren Church
3904 W Willow Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 323-2424

Church Of The Brethren
3020 S Washington Ave, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-0811


  • CHRISTIAN REFORMED

Immanuel Community Reformed Church
3200 Delta River Dr, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 321-2495

Spiritual Renaissance Min
1012 N Foster Ave, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 346-7517


  • CHURCH OF CHRIST

Church of Christ At Holmes Road
321 E Holmes Rd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-8105

New St Paul Church Of Christ
1717 E Cavanaugh Rd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-1313

Pilgrim Congregational Church
125 S Pennsylvania Ave, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 484-7434

South Lansing Christian Church
6300 Aurelius Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 394-3220

Voice of Power Deliverance Ministry
1033 Hickory St, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 908-0468

Capital Area Church Of Christ
3107 S Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-6493

Tabernacle of David Church of God In Christ
2645 W Holmes Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 882-6866

West Lansing Church of Christ
5505 W St Joe Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 323-3691


  • CHURCH OF GOD –

Pennway Church Of God
1101 E Cavanaugh Rd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-0223

West Lansing Church of God
819 West St, Lansing, MI 48915  (517) 482-8104


  • CHURCH OF GOD IN CHRIST-

Greater Works International Church of God in Christ
3310 Bardaville Dr Ste. 2C, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 214-3865

Lansing Church of God In Christ
5304 Wise Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 882-2335

Morning Star Church of God In Christ
1226 Leslie St, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 485-0229

New Community Tabernacle Church
1726 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 394-8109

New Hope Church of God In Christ
6025 S Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 394-0050

Robinson Memorial Church
509 Charles St, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 482-3478


  • CHURCH OF JESUS CHRIST OF LATTER DAY SAINTS -

none in Lansing, all located in East Lansing.


  • COMMUNITY OF CHRIST

Christ Community Church
227 N Capitol Ave, Lansing, MI 48933  (517) 482-0600

Community of Christ Capital Area Congregation
1514 W Miller Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 882-3122

Cornerstone Community
4901 W Michigan Ave, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 321-4280

River's Edge Community Church
5222 Dumond Ct, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 322-2188

Oakbrook Community Church of Lansing
1415 Clifton Ave, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 484-2234

St Stephen's Community Church
1007 Kimberly Dr, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 484-2180

Temple Immanuel's Community Church
5400 S Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 394-1988


  • CONGREGATIONAL

Mayflower Congregational Church
2901 W Mount Hope Ave, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 484-3139

Plymouth Congregational Church
2001 E Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 484-9495


  • EPISCOPAL

St. Paul's Episcopal Church
218 West Ottawa Street, Lansing - (517) 482-9454

St David's Episcopal Church
1519 Elmwood Rd, Lansing, MI 48917 - (517) 323-2272

St Michael's Episcopal Church
6500 Amwood Drive, Lansing - (517) 882-9733

  • EVANGELICAL CONVENANT –

New Covenant Christian Church & School
4415 W St Joe Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 323-8903

Bretton Woods Covenant Church
925 Bretton Rd, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 323-3316


  • INTERDENOMINATIONAL

Devine Destiny Outreach Ministries Church
1804 W Saginaw St, Lansing, MI 48915  (517) 484-4840

Life Impact Campus Ministries
205 W Saginaw St, Lansing, MI 48933  (517) 574-5965

Diosine Of Usa
921 Westover Cir, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 327-6394

Child Evangelism Fellowship Of Michigan Inc
4301 W Mount Hope Hwy Hope, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 322-2193

Holy Temple Ministries Of God
3233 Christine Dr, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 272-0116

Faith Bible Church Inc
5211 W St Joe Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 321-4225

King's Highway Deliverance Church International
2710 N Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 977-1067

Dorcas Outreach Church & Ministries
209 Falls Ct Apt E, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 327-6113

Quaid Jack Glad Tidings Church
2120 Donora St, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 485-6914

Agape Christian Church
4515 S Cedar St, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 394-2663

Christian Church-Disciples Michigan Region
2820 Covington Ct, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 372-3220

Spiritual Assistant
1034 N Homer St, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 853-0858

Abundant Life Holistic Services
3227 Holiday Dr Apt 10, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 203-4918

God's Creations
1543 Blue Ridge Dr, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 614-5208

Rey Cristo Church
6121 Rosedale Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 394-0676

Holt Christian Church Inc
2424 Washington Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 694-3960

Walker Memorial Bible Church
400 E Frederick Ave, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 482-8025


  • ISLAM


  • JEHOVAH'S WITNESSES

Jehovah's Witnesses
2730 Delta River Dr, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 323-1980

Jehovah's Witnesses
3611 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 882-3179

Jehovah's Witnesses Central & Spanish Congregation
2330 N East St, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 485-6921


  • JEWISH

Kehillat Israel Congregation
2014 Forest Rd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-0049


  • LUTHERAN

Bethlehem Lutheran Church
549 E Mount Hope Ave, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 482-3225

Calvary Lutheran Church, E L C A
6301 W St Joe Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 321-4292

Good Shepherd Lutheran Church
7000 W Saginaw Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 321-6100

Grace Lutheran Church
528 N Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Lansing, MI 48915  (517) 372-5830

Nw Lower Michigan Sinod, Elca
801 S Waverly Rd Ste 201, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 321-5066

Christ Lutheran Church
122 S Pennsylvania Ave, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 482-2252

Evangelical Lutheran Church In America North-West Michigan Synod
2900 N Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 321-5066

Shepherd Of Hills Lutheran
7740 W St Joe Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 627-3913

Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church
4001 S Pennsylvania Ave, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-0176


  • METHODIST

Cedarway Free Methodist Church
4515 S Cedar St, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-3896

+ Central United Methodist Church
215 North Capitol Avenue, Lansing - (517) 485-9477

Central Free Methodist Church
828 North Washington Avenue, Lansing - (517) 485-2232

Delta Haven Free Methodist Church Inc
12406 Broadbent Rd, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 622-8295

Delta Mills United Methodist Church
6809 Delta River Dr, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 321-8100

Faith United Methodist Church & South Lansing Ministries
4301 S Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 882-0661

Mt. Hope United Methodist Church
501 E Mount Hope Ave, Lansing - (517) 482-1549

Sycamore Creek Church
5127 Aurelius Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 394-6100


Trinity United Methodist Church
lansingtrinity.org - 7533 W St Joe Hwy, Lansing - (517) 627-8388

Asbury United Methodist Church
Asbury United Methodist Church- 2200 Lake Lansing Road, Lansing - (517) 484-5794

Christ United Methodist Church
Lansing Christ UMC - Lansing - 517 West Jolly Road, Lansing - (517) 394-2727

Grace United Methodist Church
1905 W Mount Hope Ave, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 485-3366

Grace United Methodist Church
1900 Boston Blvd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 482-5750

Gunnisonville United Methodist Church
Lansing, MI 48906 (517) 482-7987

First United Methodist Church
3827 Delta River Dr, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 321-5187


  • METHODIST – EPISCOPAL

Mask Memorial Christian Methodist Episcopal
5601 S Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 394-6900

Trinity AME Church
maps.google.com - 3500 West Holmes Road, Lansing - (517) 882-5722

St. Matthew A M E
522 W Maple St, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 482-5329


  • NAZARENE

First Church of The Nazarene
231 Iris Ave, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 492-2025

First Church Of The Nazarene
310 Elmwood Rd, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 321-4674

Kendon Drive Church of The Nazarene
711 Kendon Dr, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-5640

South Church of The Nazarene
401 W Holmes Rd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-5775

Waverly Church of The Nazarene
5701 S Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 882-5006

Woodview Church of The Nazarene
1500 E State Rd, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 372-7341


  • NON-DENOMINATIONAL

Calvary Christian Fellowship
1611 E Kalamazoo St, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 372-9673

Doors of Healing
900 E Mount Hope Ave, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 485-7892

Lansing Barefoot Church
2312 E Michigan Ave, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 374-8939

Liberty Christian Church
2215 E Michigan Ave, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 485-5483

Lighthouse Chapel
1501 Windsor St, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 394-2080

Lighthouse Chapel
611 Samantha Ave, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 394-2080

Trinity Church
3355 Dunckel Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 272-3820

Unity Spiritual Renaissance Ministries
230 S Holmes St, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 484-2360

Christian Reachout Center Church Inc
5628 Wise Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 887-8185

Life Changers Christian Center
3000 W Miller Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 393-9860

Faith Tabernacle of Lansing
921 W Mount Hope Ave, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 372-2240

Rivers of Life Church
3520 Brisbane Dr, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 394-0205

World Harvest Outreach
232 N Verlinden Ave, Lansing, MI 48915  (517) 367-1000


  • PENTECOSTAL

Bethlehem Temple Church of Lansing Inc
1518 S Washington Ave, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 485-4209

Christian Lansing Center Church
2024 Walmar Dr, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 323-2100

Glad Tdings Pentecostal Church of God
2202 Donora St, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 482-4659

International Harvest
2045 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 394-1645

Lansing Christian Center Church
5640 S Waverly Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 646-8077

Life Christian Church
2560 Eaton Rapids Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 394-5433

On This Rock Church
924 Centennial Way, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 402-1982

Original Church Of God
1916 Olds Ave, Lansing, MI 48915  (517) 482-8834

Apostolic Bible Church-U P C I
360 Clement Rd, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 484-6490

Greater Love Apostolic Temple
505 Seymour Ave, Lansing, MI 48933  (517) 371-5890

Apostolic Word Church
227 N Capitol Ave, Lansing, MI 48933  (517) 482-8910

United Church Of God
336 Richard Ave, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 853-0738


  • PRESBYTERIAN

First Presbyterian Church Of Lansing Inc
510 W Ottawa St, Lansing, MI 48933  (517) 482-0668

First Presbyterian Church Of Lansing
211 N Chestnut St, Lansing, MI 48933  (517) 482-0668

Franklin Ave. Presbyterian Church

Grace Orthodox Presbyterian Church
1301 W Wieland Rd, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 372-9343

Mount Hope Presbyterian Church
301 W Jolly Rd, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 393-2211

Presbyterian Church Usa
6100 W Michigan Ave, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 321-3569

Providence Presbyterian Church of America
Lansing, MI 48915 (517) 333-1802

Westminster Presbyterian Church
743 N Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, Lansing, MI 48915  (517) 484-8433

Korean Presbyterian Church
200 W Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 332-1968

North Presbyterian Church
108 W Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 482-0336


  • ROMAN CATHOLIC

St. Gerard Parish Lansing, MI
www.stgerard.org/
4437 West Willow Highway, Lansing
(517) 323-2379


St. Mary Cathedral Parish at 219 Seymour Avenue, Lansing, MI 48933 ...
[stmarycathedrallansing.catholicweb.com/ St Mary Cathedral]
219 Seymour Avenue, Lansing
(517) 484-5331

Ingham County, Michigan; St Marys church


Church of the Resurrection
Church of the Resurrection
1531 E Michigan Ave, Lansing, Michigan
(517) 482-4749


Cristo Rey Parish Church
201 W Miller Rd, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 394-4639


St. Casimir Catholic Parish
St. Casimir Catholic Parish
815 Sparrow Avenue, Lansing
(517) 482-1346


St. Therese of Lisieux Parish
www.sttherese.org/
102 West Randolph Street, Lansing
(517) 482-0765


Immaculate Heart of Mary: Masses: Saturday 4:30 Pm Sunday 7:30 9:30 11:30 A
Telephone:(517)882-6631
Immaculate Heart of Mary
3815 South Cedar Street, Lansing
(517) 393-3030
Immaculate Heart of Mary

Resurrection Rcia Ministry
1517 E Michigan Ave, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 485-7866

St. Andrew Dung Lac
5430 S Washington Ave, Lansing, MI 48911  (517) 882-8205

St. Joseph Melkite Catholic Church Parish Hall
725 W Mount Hope Ave, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 484-7230

St. Joseph Melkite Catholic Church Parish Hall
921 Westover Cir, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 327-6394


  • SEVENTH DAY ADVENTISTS -

Bethel Seventh Day Adventists -Church
1120 N Pennsylvania Ave, Lansing, MI 48906  (517) 484-2943

Lansing Seventh Day Adventists Church
5400 W St Joe Hwy, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 321-1963

Michigan Conference of Seventh Day Adventists
320 W Saint Joseph St, Lansing, MI 48933  (517) 316-1500


  • SPIRITUALIST

First Spiritualist Church of Lansing
611 Samantha Ave, Lansing, MI 48910  (517) 882-5188


  • UNITY

Unity of Greater Lansing
240 Marshall St, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 371-3010


  • UNIVERSALIST

Universalist Church, Grand St.,


  • WESLEYAN

Faith Church
2300 Lake Lansing Rd, Lansing, MI 48912  (517) 482-8660

Willow Community Wesleyan Church
3200 W Willow St, Lansing, MI 48917  (517) 323-1832



Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, East Lansing

Court

Directories

Events

Families of Ingham County

Ingham County Related Family Webpages

BALLARD - The Appleton Ballard Family of Lansing, Michigan

COOK - A history of the American and puritanical family of Sutliff or Sutliffe ... By Samuel Milton Sutliff

FELT - The Felt Genealogy?: A Record of the Descendants of George Felt of Casco Bay

FIELD - Field Genealogy: Being the Record of All the Field Family in ..., Volume 1, By Frederick Clifton Pierce

FOSTER - Foster genealogy, Part 1. By Frederick Clifton Pierce

GILMORE - Genealogy - Family of Dolly Edna Gilmore

GUILE - The Genealogy and History of the Guild, Guile and Gile Family, By Charles Burleigh

HAMMOND - Wadhams genealogy, proceded by a sketch of the Wadham family in England, By Mrs. Harriet Weeks (Wadhams) Stevens

HERRMAN / HERMANN - Ingham County MI Pioneer Families

HOLMES - KERR family.RTF. The Historical Society of Greater Lansing on Facebook

KENT - History and Genealogy of the Kent Family: Decendants [! of Richard Kent ..., By Edward Irving Dale, Edward Everett Kent]

KERR - KERR family.RTF. The Historical Society of Greater Lansing on Facebook

LESLIE - A Complete Record of the John Olin Family: The First of that Name who Came ..., By Chauncey C. Olin

LORANGER - French Detroit on Facebook

MURRAY - Genealogy Report: Descendants of John H. Murray

NORTHRUP - Genealogy of Josiah Munroe, Revolutionary Soldier, who Died in the Service ..., By Guilford Smith Northrup

OVERMYER - Overmyer History and Genealogy, from 1680 to 1905, By Barnhart B. Overmyer, John C. Overmyer

PINCKNEY - PINCKNEY family.RTF. The Historical Society of Greater Lansing on Facebook

RAY The Genealogy of the Lamborn Family: With Extracts from History, Biographies ...

RODMAN - Genealogy of the Rodman Family, 1620 to 1886, By Charles Henry Jones

SHERMAN - The Brewster genealogy, 1566-1907: a record of the ..., Volume 2, Part 1, edited by Emma C. Brewster Jones

TERRY - Terry residents of Onondaga
Lynette's Family History Page...

TURNER - Descendants of Michael Turner of MA

TUTTLE - Tuttle, Tuttle and Tuttle: Ingham County’s First Family of Law

WARNER - Genealogy of the Families of John Rockwell, of Stamford, Connecticut 1641

Biographies
Miscellaneous


Emigration and Immigration

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Ingham County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

A History of the Haslett-Lake Lansing Area, Meridian Township, Ingham County, Michigan

Maps

Miingham.jpg

Military

War of 1812
Civil War
  • Michigan Adjutant General’s Office, Records of service of Michigan Volunteers in the Civil War, Kalamazoo, MI: Ihling Brothers and Everard, 1905.  Available at Google Books.
  • Robertson, John, comp. Michigan in the War. Lansing, MI: W.S. George and Co., 1880. Available at Google Books

Civil War service men from Cass County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Cass County.

- 12th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Company G

Spanish American War
World War I
World War II


Newspapers

Finding More Michigan Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ingham County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries


Probate

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Ingham and search for Probate records in the list.

Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Ingham County Probate Court

Online Probate Records

Queries: Mailing Lists & Message Boards

Taxation

Vital Records

State vital records started in 1867, however marriage records started at the county level earlier. Check both.

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

Birth
Marriage
Death

Societies, Archives, Libraries and Museums

Ingham County Genealogical Society
PO Box 85
Mason 48854


Mason Area Historical Society
200 E Oak St
Mason MI 48854
Telephone Number:517-676-9837
E-mail[1]
Website


Libraries & Archives


Museums


Societies

Ingham County Genealogical Society
PO Box 85
Mason, MI 48854
E-mail:[2]

Ingham County Historical Commission
Craig Whitford, Chairperson
c/o Ingham County Board of Commissioners
P.O. Box 319
Mason, MI 48854
517-676-7200

The Mason Area Historical Society
200 East Oak St.
PO Box 44
Mason, MI 48854
Telephone Number: 517-676-9837
Website

Michigan Historic Preservation Network
107 East Grand River Avenue
Lansing, Michigan 48906
Telephone Number: 517-371-8080
Fax 517-371-9090
E-mail:[3]
Website

Michigan Oral History Association
5580 West State Road
Lansing, MI 48906-9325
Telephone Number: 517-321-1746
Website

The Michigan Women's Historical Center Hall of Fame
213 West Malcolm X Street
Lansing Michigan 48933
Telephone Number: 517-484-1880
http://www.michiganwomenshalloffame.org/hall_of_fame.aspx Website]
<br

Mid-Michigan Genealogical Society
PO Box 16033
Lansing MI 48910-6033

Website

Stockbridge Area Genealogical and Historical Society
PO Box 966
Stockbridge, Michigan 49285
Website

Society page
Facebook Page '

French-canadian Heritage Society Of Mich
PO Box 10028
Lansing 48901-0028







Facebook

State wide or ethnic groups

AFRICAN-AMERICAN

  • Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society
    c/o Burton Historical Collection, DPL
    5201 Woodward Avenue
    Detroit MI 48202-4007
    Publication is Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society News published twice a year
    Located in Wayne County
    MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

CORNISH

DUTCH

FINNISH

FLEMISH

FRENCH-CANADIAN (includes Acadian, Cajun and Metis)

IRISH

ITALIAN

JEWISH

POLISH

SCOTTISH


ANISHNAWBE (Chippewa / Ojibwe, Ottawa / Odawa, Potawatomi Indians)

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 369-384. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ingham County, Michigan page 346, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).