Ipswich St Mary at the Quay, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Parishes  Gotoarrow.png Ipswich Borough   Gotoarrow.png Ipswich St Mary at the Quay

Ipswich St Mary at the Quay, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ipswich
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Ipswich
Registration District Ipswich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ipswich
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Parish History

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to St Mary Quay, Ipswich and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.
For civil registration and probate records see the Ipswich page.

Church records

Ipswich St Mary at the Quay, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[1]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
Ipswich St Mary at the Quay, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1836
BOYD
1601-1735

FMP 1701-1902


IGI 1562-1737
NBI

1559-1855
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474646.


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911 Place Index', findmypast, accessed 18 December 2015: Described ambiguously as 'Ipswich.'
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.