Iron Acton, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Iron Acton, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Iron Acton, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Iron Acton, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thornbury
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Chipping Sodbury
Registration District Chipping Sodbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hawkesbury
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

IRON-ACTON (St. James), a parish, partly in the Lower division of the hundred of Grumbald's-Ash, but chiefly in the Lower division of that of Thornbury, union of Chipping-Sodbury, W. division of the county of Gloucester, 3½ miles (W. N. W.) from Chipping-Sodbury. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Church records

Iron Acton, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)
IARC = Internet Archive - free[5]
Iron Acton, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1813-1857 1813-1857 1813-1857 1813-1857 1813-1857 1813-1857
BOYD 1584-1841
1575-1899

IARC 1574-1753 (gaps) 1577-1762 (gaps) 1572-1750 (gaps)

Online Parish Clerks

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288779.


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Maps and Gazetteers

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 620-623. Date accessed: 08 January 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1938', Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  5. 'Extracts from Parish Registers, No. V.: Iron Acton,' in Beaver H. Blacker, ed., Gloucestershire Notes and Queries, Vol. 3 (1887):51-55. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.